Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 22, 2013/ 13 Sivan 5773

Walking Tall

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | ORLANDO, Fla. — The room is very large and full of the usual exercise equipment. There are treadmills and stationary bikes, weight machines and even a climbing wall.

About a dozen chairs are scattered around the edges of the room. As I enter, six people are sitting there. They have four legs between them.

There are usually children around. The first time I came here, shyly watching from the doorway, I heard a "beep-beep" behind me, and as I turned, a 5-year-old sped past me at a remarkable speed, hopping on her one leg.

This is Prosthetic and Orthotic Associates, one of the largest facilities in the country. The walls are filled with pictures: People with one or no legs crossing the finish lines at marathons or triathlons, legless golfers in mid-swing, a one-legged pitcher glowering from the mound, legless skiers and a one-legged tennis player hitting a ferocious backhand.

The mood in the room is cheerful. I have never seen anyone cry, though I have heard a few muttered swear words over the occasional stumble. Mostly people here have worked through the "why me?" stage and the depression stage and the anger stage. They are here for the last stage: the rebuilding stage.

The last time I was here, there was a teenager from the Dominican Republic, I think, whose church had scraped together enough money to fly him to POA. POA does a lot of work for free. He was getting the first legs he had ever had.

He had never, in other words, been more than about 3 feet tall, and now he would be about 6 feet tall. He would be about a million miles tall.

He was always smiling, even through his first halting steps. I asked him why. "I am thinking about when I go back to my town and see all the kids who used to make fun of me," he told me. "I will look at them and walk right past them. I will not say a word. I will just walk past them." His grin got wider.

I met a vet, who, judging by his age, probably had served in Vietnam, and was now testing out a new multimillion-dollar leg developed by the government. The wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have led to huge advances in prosthetics, and there are now legs crammed with electronics, gyroscopes and cybernetic wonders.

I asked the veteran how he liked his new wonder leg. "Ah, I think I'll go back to the old one," he said, pointing at a scratched and battered prosthetic leg leaning against the wall. People get attached to their legs.

Stories on amputees have filled the media since the Boston Marathon bombing in which at least 17 people have had one or both of their legs blown off. Public response was immediate and extremely generous. Tens of millions of dollars have been raised, and free prosthetics offered. Not having to worry about money will be a huge burden lifted from the shoulders of those wounded, but they will face other burdens: They will want to hit a tennis ball again, water ski again or just walk again.

They will want to be what they were: whole. That is not just a physical process, but a mental one.

My picture is on the wall here, but not because of me. It is because my wife and I are at the annual White House holiday press party, standing between President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama. Six months before, I had interviewed him in the Oval Office. I had lost both legs about six months before that and was in a wheelchair unable to walk. "I'll see you at the party in December, " he said at the end of the interview, "and you'll be walking by then. You will be."

It turned out he was right. I was a little afraid of falling over as I walked toward him and his wife, but I made it. I wasn't ready for any dance numbers, but I made it.

After the bombing in Boston, Obama went there and made a speech, grieving for those whose lives had been ended and then turned his attention to those whose lives had been shattered.

"We will all be with you as you learn to stand, and walk and, yes, run again," he said. "Of that I have no doubt. You will run again."

I believe they will. The president has pretty good powers of prediction when it comes to such things.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate