Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 8, 2013/ 28 Iyar, 5773

Euphoria and depression in a single spam folder

By Greg Schwem



JewishWorldReview.com | Each week I begrudgingly sift through my spam email folder, verifying that nothing of importance inadvertently landed there. Occasionally I get a surprise -- e.g., MR. SCHWEM PLEASE CONTACT THE SCHOOL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. That one went undiscovered for three days; luckily the school nurse also has my cellphone number.

Not only does scanning the subject lines take an exorbitant amount of time, but it has a profound effect on my weekly emotional state. Case in point? I didn't realize I was overweight until five weeks ago when I began getting emails insisting I watch a video from Dr. Oz (yes, that Dr. Oz) that would help me "SHED THAT FAT." My physician recently told me my weight was absolutely normal, but so fast and furious were the emails arriving, that I started to wonder. At one point, 33 landed in my spam folder in one hour, causing me to immediately empty the snack drawer in my home office and Google "most popular fitness apps."

One week later, just as I was ready to embark on a new lifestyle regimen, emails from the great and powerful Oz disappeared -- and I think I know why. True, the good doctor advises millions via his syndicated talk show but his publicist must have told him not to get mixed up with patients like myself whose files are full of UNFLATTERING INFORMATION. Suddenly email after email was hitting my spam folder with this awful news. I have no idea where my "file" is but it must be bulging at the seams because, as double digit emails stated, it also contained HORRIBLE, NEGATIVE and SHOCKING information. Making matters worse, there was an INSANE post about me on Friday. I didn't click on the attached link to see the source of this insanity (I'm not that stupid) but I sank further into depression.

Thankfully, things began looking up the next week; gone were the emails containing shocking information. Now my spam folder excitedly buzzed with wonderful news. I had an AMAZING CREDIT SCORE! "Perfect," I thought. "What better way to cheer myself up than to drag my fat, unflattering self over to my local bank and put a down payment on that catamaran I've been eyeballing over the years?" If the loan officer hesitated, I could produce at least 67 emails verifying that some organization named Equifax gave me a perfect score. As one email subject stated, "Credit scores are hard to increase, but YOURS just went up!" So there.

As March gave way to April, I really got a spring in my step, courtesy of my spam folder. All I had to do was complete a brief survey and Subway would offer me a FREE SUB. At last count, I have received 94 emails with this offer. If I take all 94 surveys, I can eat more subs than Jared and not pay for any of them, in spite of my exemplary credit score! Better yet, I wouldn't need Dr. Oz's video. How much weight did Jared lose eating nothing but Subway for breakfast, lunch and dinner?

Well I didn't think things could get any better in my life. Until the following week. That's when I realized I could get an IPHONE 5 FOR $19.35! And an IPAD3 FOR $41.19! I was ready to act but decided to wait and it's a good thing. The 159th email proclaiming these amazing Apple deals had the iPhone and iPad down to $7.82 and $29.14 respectively. I envisioned myself spending the day with the world's most popular technology toys while I ate free Veggie Delites at a Wi-Fi-enabled Subway.

Unfortunately, I'm going to have to put that on hold because this week my spam folder has me back in a funk. Apparently I have ALARMINGLY LOW TESTOSTERONE LEVELS! This was news to me (and my wife), but I'm sure it's somewhere in my file. Now I'm checking my spam folder constantly, waiting for a solution.

Dr. Oz, can you help?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment by clicking here.

Greg Schwem is a corporate stand-up comedian and author of "Text Me If You're Breathing: Observations, Frustrations and Life Lessons From a Low-Tech Dad".


Previously:



Kids, never let skills and competence stand in your way
An 'F' is a very 'Nobel' grade
The TV remote is Harvard's answer to birth control

© 2013, Greg Schwem Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast