Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 29, 2013/ 20 Sivan, 5773

What next? A drone war against the press?

By Clarence Page

Clarence Page


JewishWorldReview.com | Could a president order drone strikes against journalists? I'm not worried. No, really. Not much.

But the broad sweep of our government's counterterrorism policy on targeted killings by unmanned drones, coupled with the Justice Department's new aggressiveness against media leaks, makes me wonder whether we journos should watch our step.

I first heard the question raised back in February by Amy Davidson, a New Yorker senior editor in an online panel she hosted on the ethics of choosing drone targets. Would a journalist working overseas qualify as a potential target, she asked, if he or she was about to release classified information that might provoke a terror strike or other real danger to Americans?

One panelist, Michael Walzer, author of "Just and Unjust Wars," thought, no, the danger to Americans had "to come directly not indirectly from the target before he can be a target."

But Jeff McMahan, a professor of philosophy at Rutgers who has written several books on the ethics of war, thought the journalist could be a target if that was the only way to save innocent lives. Even so, he cautioned that the possibility of such a circumstance was very remote.

That's a relief. But the central question -- Who is "dangerous" and who decides? -- remained unsettled and unsettling.

Three months later, the question has taken on a new relevance with disclosures of Justice Department probes into call records of more than 20 phone lines of 100 journalists for The Associated Press. Investigators were pursing the leaker of a U.S. counterterrorism operation in Yemen.

Even more shocking was the later news that in an application for a warrant that allowed the FBI to read Fox News reporter James Rosen's private emails, the bureau had alleged that Rosen could be a "co-conspirator" in spy charges under the Espionage Act. The agents were pursuing a leak of information to Rosen in 2009 on how North Korea might react to a United Nations resolution that condemned its nuclear test.

I don't raise the very remote -- I still hope -- possibility of targeted drone strikes against journalists because I think it's going to happen. I raise it to illustrate how murky our current drone policy is in regard to how such decisions are made and how easily they might be subject to abuse.

I also raise it to help me to put you into the shoes of people who live in countries that are on the receiving end of our drone strikes. We should not be surprised that our drones may be stirring up so much anti-American resentment on the ground that they create more terrorists than they kill.

I certainly prefer the use of drones over the option of sending in ground troops and endangering even more innocent lives. But the ease of drone use is tempting enough to lead to overuse, especially if it is not guided by clear policies with clear limits.

President Obama took an important step toward much-needed clarity on both the drone and media issues in his national security speech last week at the National Defense University, although he needs to go farther.

On drones, he wants limits. But he offered few specifics, except promises to try harder to avoid killing innocent people. He could begin by ending "signature strikes," in which drones are used against individuals who demonstrate the "signature" of militant activity. That unfortunately has called for enough guesswork to lead to the deaths of innocent people. Obama indicated he wants to at least reduce "signature strikes," but left a troubling number of vague loopholes and unanswered questions.

And "Journalists should not be at legal risk for doing their jobs," he said of the chilling effect imposed by aggressive leak investigations. Yet journalists remained at risk even as he spoke, and his proposed legislation probably would not have applied to the AP or Fox News cases.

It would be better to open up the process by requiring prosecutors to convince a federal judge of the need to search journalists' records. Treating reporters like criminal suspects is a precedent this administration never should have set.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Clarence Page can be reached by clicking here.

Clarence Page Archives

© 2013, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast