Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 13, 2013/ 4 Sivan, 5773

A hard rain a-comin'

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | After disappearing during his term in office and bringing scandal to his family and state, former South Carolina governor Mark Sanford is going to Washington, having won election to Congress. And that's far from the worst story reflecting the current character of our nation.

In Washington, D.C., a doctor tells the Washington Post that he's willing to let a baby who survives an abortion die, and calls the pro-life activist who released a video of him making similar remarks a "terrorist." The trial of abortionist and accused murderer Kermit Gosnell in Philadelphia serves as a ghoulish backdrop to this level of callous indifference.

It does happen to feel like the end is near.

And that just could be awesome.

"Figuring out how to make the world better is hard," my National Review colleague Kevin D. Williamson writes in his new book titled "The End Is Near and It's Going to Be Awesome." "What works in theory often does not work in practice, and angrily insisting that it should work does not make it work."

Oh, but how we do insist! In politics, we tend to adopt an ideology and stick with it, regardless of the results. We insist that government do things that it can't plausibly handle, and then ignore the fact that it's not doing the things it could and should be doing.

While having respect for a great many people in government, Williamson nonetheless contends: "(P)olitics as an institution fails first and foremost because it cannot manage the complex processes of modern life, because doing so would require politicians to be able to gather and process amounts of information so vast that they are literally incalculable."

Politicians make promises government can't possibly keep and we get swept up in the insistence that there is a legislative answer to everything.

Our civil discourse all too often clings to government and market-based answers, ignoring the truth that when mediating institutions -- families, religious communities and charities -- flourish, individuals can soar, giving credibility to the claims of American exceptionalism. These are who will be picking up the pieces when the end comes.

Williamson argues that the unsustainability of our current trajectory necessitates a starting over. We'll have no choice in the matter. "The U.S government has, for example, promised its citizens certain health-care and retirement benefits, the unfunded liabilities of which at present amount to a little more than twice the annual economic output of human civilization."

Needless to say, that's not going to work.

But his key insight is: "Our problem is not only how we govern, but how we live."

Conservatives claim to be a "family values" crowd and yet no one successfully talked Mark Sanford out of running (and I got way too many emails for my taste celebrating his recent victory).

We pray to G0D when terror strikes, but we relegate religion to a mere Sunday church service as a matter of federal policy. We talk about women's health and freedom, but the euphemisms wind up screening us from the horrific realities of late-term abortions and the warped moral climate that has been the product of the sexual revolution.

"The historic challenge of our time," Williamson writes, "is to anticipate as best we can the coming changes and to begin developing alternative institutions and social practices to ensure the continuation of a society that is humane, secure, free, and prosperous."

Williamson makes another important insight about humility and its rarity in politics. "Humility is not only a private virtue -- it is a social technology. By keeping in mind that we may be wrong -- that we are in fact very likely to be wrong in important ways -- we help each other and ourselves to become less wrong over time." At its best, life -- whether on political, cultural or personal fronts -- is about learning from mistakes. Encourage the good, help with healing, pick up and start again. Some of those who model this best are motivated by a sense of purpose that's not rooted in temporal power or merely personal gain, but an eternal summons. The end is actually a beginning. To rebuild a culture that unders

tands sacrifice, suffering and hard work are at the heart of what makes society work. In humility, we can all admit to having made contributions to the oversimplifications and intractability of debates, and try to do better. That's not an impossible promise. That's the audacity to hope there is awesomeness yet to come and that we each play a role in helping one another get things less wrong.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2012, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast