Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 8, 2013 / 28 Iyar, 5773

What if honest apologies become the norm?

By Kevin Horrigan





http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This is disturbing. On Tuesday, SSM Health Care issued an absolutely straightforward apology for operating on the wrong side of a patient's brain.

"SSM Health Care and SSM St. Clare Health Center sincerely apologize for the wrong-site surgery in our operating room," wrote the president and chief executive of SSM Health Care-St. Louis. Chris Howard went on to state, "This was a breakdown in our procedures, and it absolutely should not have happened."

Where were the lawyers? Where were the public relations strategists? Where was the weasel language?

Apologies are an art form. You have to say things like "if anyone was offended by the fact that we operated on the right side of the patient's brain instead of the left side, we are in regretful mode. But you know what? We did the correct procedure a few days later, no charge."

This is an outrage. Whatever happened to "never apologize, never explain?" What if no-nonsense apologies become the norm? What if honesty becomes a trend?

We'd like to apologize for spending the entire legislative session fooling around with gun laws. A lot of our constituents, believe it or not, think that jack-booted government thugs are coming for their guns. Heck, some legislators actually think that. We've got to pander to them if we want to keep our jobs, which is clearly our top priority.

I apologize for suggesting that use of chemical weapons by Syrian forces would be a "red line" that would trigger U.S. or NATO action. I was just trying to be dramatic. It was a Cheney moment, and I'm sorry. As evil as Bashar Assad's regime is, he's got me between a rock and a hard place. We could arm the opposition, but a lot of them are Islamists with ties to al-Qaida. We could take out the chemical weapons dumps, but then what? Invade? Spend another trillion dollars, get a bunch of U.S. troops killed, stay in the middle of a civil war for 10 years? I don't think so.

We apologize for gutting the disclosure provisions in the STOCK Act, the bill that bans federal officials and their staff members from trading on inside information we gather in the course of our duties. We're really sorry that we claimed that disclosing this information would be a national security risk. The truth is, making money off insider knowledge is a nice perk. But don't worry: Insider trading is still illegal, we just don't have to make it public. Of course, we won't do it if it's illegal. Don't worry about a thing.

We apologize for ignoring our own sequester rules and fully staffing the Federal Aviation Administration's air traffic control centers. Sure, people are going without cancer drugs and meals on wheels, but we fly a lot and so do people who give us money. We don't want to be inconvenienced.

We apologize to our student who was attacked in the restroom for releasing the guy who attacked her and not saying anything about it until the victim complained. We apologize for forcing the college president to resign without saying whether he had anything to do with the cover-up. We apologize for trying to look transparent without actually, you know, being transparent. We're going to hold safety forums because we're working really hard to look sincere.

We apologize for asking you to believe that we loaded up all of our pension costs on a new company that we we spun off and now we're shocked, shocked that five years later, the new company is in bankruptcy.

We the American people apologize for the fact that even though 60 percent of us voted in last year's election, only 39 percent of us can name even one Supreme Court justice and 41 percent of us can't name the vice president of the United States. We apologize for the fact that even though Syria is all over the news, 50 percent of us can't locate it on a world map. We apologize for bashing immigrants even though 38 percent of us flunked the citizenship test that immigrants have to take. On the other hand, 86 percent of us know and like Betty White. USA! USA!

Comment by clicking here.

Kevin Horrigan writes for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.


Previously:


This just in: Watching the Oscars is NOT a waste of time

A meditation on horsemeat lasagna

How to get the most out of your worrying time

© 2013, St. Louis Post-Dispatch Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles