Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 27, 2012/ 6 Sivan, 5772

Even now, Memorial Day means summer camp

By Dan K. Thomasson




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Memorial Day, nee Decoration Day, was a big deal when I was a kid. For one thing it was the day that 33 drivers in the world's fastest cars roared around a brick track in the granddaddy of all races, the Indianapolis 500, about 30 miles north of my home.

More importantly to me it was the unofficial beginning of summer with the opening of the community swimming pool and warm days when all sorts of out of school activities from fishing to exploring beckoned from the creeks and woods around home. It also meant, at least when I was still a ways from puberty, heading for camp.

The anticipation of that began the minute school was out so that the three weeks I actually spent there stretched into more than a month of excitement as I packed and repacked and saved every nickel from a magazine route. This was post-Depression by only a very few years and World War II with its gasoline rationing had curbed travel. Also families, still reeling from the deprivation of the worst economic disaster in the nation's history, were just getting used to having a little money and were still careful how they spent it.

The name of this Shangri-La with its permanent cabins and ice cream and model and craft stores, chapel, dining hall, sail boats and swimming was Camp Crosley. And the years I went there the director of this YMCA-owned and operated heaven on earth was Mr. Pettyjohn. I'm not sure of the spelling after all this time nor do I remember his first name. It doesn't matter. He was short and round and a kind gentleman whom we only saw in the chapel for convocations and other camp-wide events. He had been there for years and obviously was slowing down. His assistants and counselors did most of the work.

I do recall the extravagant cost of this excitement. It was $11 a week or $33 for my entire stay, not counting outlays for candy, ice cream, stuff to make a lanyard and so forth. The importance and popularity of a camper was measured by the intricacy of his lanyard. Those fellow campers with the more colorful and elaborately woven lanyards were the most envied among us.

I was listening to National Public Radio the other day and heard a piece about the summer camp industry. The average for an overnight camp was, the reporter said, about $789 a week. For a day camp, it was more than $250. That meant that my experience today might cost $3,000, depending on whether its rate fell above or below the average.

But this venerable institution on the shores of Lake Tippecanoe, Ind., founded in 1921 is still going strong and the weekly residence fee was listed on the Internet as $500, still a tidy sum in comparison but obviously a better bargain than some. o that I can only add, "Holy Cow!"

Perhaps this summer experience has taken a backseat to the specialized "camps" offered in nearly every sport - hockey, basketball, football, baseball, tennis, golf ,etc. Maybe the electronics at home or those offered at a camp are more attractive to today's youngsters than hiking, swimming or boating. Send-a-kid -to-camp charities, I realize, still exist and now and then I have contributed. I do know there are various church-sponsored and Boy and Girl Scout camps that my own children attended and still talk about.

If this activity has diminished because of cost or lack of interest, it is too bad. I believe the semi-organized freedom of a summer in a verdant setting is one of the more exhilarating, memorable ways of spending time away from the classroom. Every night the camp bugler would warm up to ending the day with a rendition of a popular song like "Dreams" and the cabins would fall silent as they prepared to do just that.

After four years, I had other things to do. But every Memorial Day, I think about how excited I was in anticipation of those adventures by the lake.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


05/18/12: Is there a public right to know too much?

05/09/12: American exceptionalism --- exceptional generosity

05/04/12: The Edwards trial is a sorry affair

05/02/12: Common sense needs to be taught . . . to school administrators

04/30/12: We must deal with college student debt rate

04/10/12: At least Ryan has a deficit-cutting plan

04/05/12: Celebrate one-year rent-a-teams?

03/12/12: A kinder, gentler day when fists settled disputes

03/05/12: Do conservatives want a victory or a statement?

02/27/12: Hillary vs. Jeb?

02/17/12: Why wait for the until GOP nominating convention?

02/17/12: Prez is not a god, just a cause of O.G. D.: Obama Governmental Dysfunction

02/13/12: Minor tardiness doesn't warrant court action

02/08/12: College rankings aren't always reliable

02/01/12: Millionaire Fans Watching Millionaire Players

01/30/12: Kiriakou case may plug leaks, stifle democracy

01/09/12: Feds need to find if Brit hackers targeted 9/11 families

12/23/11: NIH flu-strain decision endangers us all

12/09/11: U.S. Postal Service may be beyond saving

11/30/11: Do-gooder gets deserved earful

11/24/11: Lawmakers should pledge to think on their own

11/22/11: Iowa: Vital to GOP now, irrelevant later

11/16/11: Pentagon's ‘senior mentor’ service takes hit

11/14/11: With Congress, expect more intransigence

11/08/11: Paterno's illustrious career faces tarnished end

10/31/11: The FBI is burned by its Boston informants

10/18//11: President Inexperienced again picked style and enthusiasm over caution. He must pay

10/10/11: Prosecutors routinely abuse plea bargaining

10/04/11: In Christie,shades of William Howard Taft

09/27/11: One word for Obama's prospects --- ‘bleak’

09/26/11: Obama quickly running out of time

09/23/11: Big-time college football is now all about the money

09/22/11: A trip to the dentist cleans out your wallet

09/06/11: College rankings a useless exercise

08/31/11: Thankful a mother isn't alive to see this hungry mess

08/30/11: ‘Supercommittee’ should meet in secret

08/22/11: Is college still worth it? Some majors are

08/15/11: Pray for miracle from debt committee

08/09/11: S&P mixes credit ratings with politics

08/08/11: Politics again takes precedence over common sense

08/04/11: In modern society, a distinct pattern of senselessness

07/29/11: A debt solution: Throw the rascals out, all of them

07/21/11: Campaign finance reform --- you're kidding, right!?

07/08/11: Casey Anthony jury did its job

07/05/11: Nailing a prominent figure or institution should come at a heavy risk — and an even greater price if proven a hoax





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles