Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

On Nutrition: Understanding sweeteners

By Barbara Quinn



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was a lovely meal. And healthy, too. Fresh fish. Grilled vegetables. And then came dessert…and that's all I'm going to say about that.

What makes us so enjoy the taste of sweets? According to the latest position paper on "Nutritive and Non-nutritive Sweeteners" from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics ((http://www.andjrnl.org/article/S2212-2672(12)00325-5/abstract) our taste for sugar is innate. It's the sweet taste of lactose (milk sugar) that guides a newborn baby to mom's breast. And genetics plays a role as well, say experts. Not everyone is "programmed" to desire the taste of sweets. I've known a handful of people in my lifetime that could take or leave dessert. I am not one of them.

Here's a quick primer on sweeteners in our diet:

Nutritive sweeteners are a source of energy (calories). Some are a natural part of the food we eat such as lactose in dairy foods and fructose in fruit, honey and agave. Some "added sugars" are derived from natural sources. For example, sucrose — half fructose and half glucose "table sugar" — is found in cane and sugar beets.

"Non-nutritive" sweeteners are those that impart a sweet taste without calories. Examples are acesulfame K (derived from an organic acid and potassium), aspartame (made from two protein-type amino acids), and stevia (a sugar-type molecule processed from the stevia plant). Sucralose (aka Splenda) is another example of a non-nutritive sweetener.

Sweeteners do more than impart a sweet taste. Sugar inhibits the growth of microbes (bad bugs) in jams and jellies. It can balance the acid taste of dressings and sauces. It adds volume, texture, flavor and color to various food creations. Chewing gum that contains xylitol — a sugar alcohol — has been found to prevent dental caries.

We need sugar. It is the fuel that runs all of our body machinery. Glucose, for example is the primary energy source for every cell in the body. Cells — including brain cells — will die without adequate glucose.

We eat more sugar than we need. Excessive amounts of added sugar provide no redeeming nutritional value other than added calories. And like all extra calories, those that are not burned for fuel get stored as fat. Experts tell us that excess consumption of added sugars is linked to obesity, type 2 diabetes and heart disease.

Sweeteners used in the United States have been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to be safe for the general public, including during pregnancy. As with all nutrition recommendations, however, safe intake is within the context of an overall healthful diet.

Bottom line, says the academy: We can safely enjoy a range of nutritive and non-nutritive sweeteners within an eating plan guided by current nutrition research and our own health goals and preferences. We can choose to drink water, low-fat or non-fat milk, and other beverages with no added sugars. We can eat natural sources of sugar (such as fruit) for dessert more often. And we can share those special sweet desserts with a friend.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Barbara Quinn is a registered dietitian and certified diabetes educator at the Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula.



Previously:


Ups and downs of birthdays

Genetically modified foods
Fun with potatoes
Sugar questions
Yeast infection diet
Questions from readers
Beware of the hCG diet
Diets that work
Pregnancy advice from mom
Terminology review
Thoughts for the New Year
Reasons to have a cup of tea
What's new for 2012
Applications for healthy living
Clarifying organic terminology
Facts about type 1 diabetes
Myths and facts about diabetes
Food Still Better Than Supplements
Celiac questions


© 2011, The Monterey County Herald Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles