Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

On Nutrition: Ups and downs of birthdays

By Barbara Quinn



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I was glancing through a women's magazine and came upon an article that described beauty secrets for women at different decades of life. When I got to my (newest) category, four little words caught my attention: "Everything is moving down."

Great…Then I realized that chronological age (years of age) does not necessarily match physiological age (how we age). In fact, experts have identified a few basic lifestyle behaviors that are extremely beneficial to "healthy aging." And many of them have to do with diet… imagine that.

Eat up to 4 to 5 cups of vegetables each day. Colorful varieties of reds, greens, oranges and yellows contain potent vitamins, minerals and antioxidants that keep the machinery of our cells up and running.

Cut down on alcohol. Longer life is a benefit of men who consume less than 2 drinks a day and women who have less than 1 alcoholic drink a day. (1 drink is 4 to 5 ounces of wine or 12 ounces of beer or 1 ounce of liquor.)

Up intake of calcium-rich foods. They have an important role in blood pressure control and may even be beneficial in weight control. And of course low fat or fat-free milk, yogurt and cheese or calcium-enriched non-dairy foods help bones and muscles stand up to the pressures of life.

Keep body weight down. It might help protect your brain, say researchers. For example, a recent study on women ages 65 to 79 found that as body weight goes up, memory scores go down. Good to remember.

Get up and go exercise. Experts say this one behavior has the most influence to prevent or slow down the bodily changes that define what we call "old." Hearts that pump blood during physical activity send nutrients and oxygen up to the brain as well as other body cells. And as flexibility and strength go up, excess weight and blood pressure go down.

Put down those M&M's and pick up that orange. My body requires 5 percent fewer calories - about 100 fewer calories a day - with each advancing decade. Gulp. And even though calorie needs go down, our requirement for vitamins, minerals and other nutrients stays essentially the same as we age. Now is a good time to replace calorie-rich foods with those that are "nutrient-dense."

Stay up with adequate fluids. Even though the formulas to calculate fluid needs have changed, most of us still require a minimum of 6 to 8 glasses of water every day. And besides water we can count tea, coffee, juice, milk and other beverages as part of the quota.

Down to bed and up and at 'em after 7 or 8 hours. Too little or too much sleep is linked to a shorter life, say sleep experts.

Keep up the good habits. We truly become what we practice each day. And I found this new (and free!) website to track my daily progress (including limits on my M&M 's): www.choosemyplate.gov/SuperTracker

Keep up with friends and family. They give sagging spirits a lift and love us even when "everything is moving down."

Look up. At this awesome creation we call life. And smile. Everything looks up when we do.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Barbara Quinn is a registered dietitian and certified diabetes educator at the Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula.



Previously:


Genetically modified foods

Fun with potatoes
Sugar questions
Yeast infection diet
Questions from readers
Beware of the hCG diet
Diets that work
Pregnancy advice from mom
Terminology review
Thoughts for the New Year
Reasons to have a cup of tea
What's new for 2012
Applications for healthy living
Clarifying organic terminology
Facts about type 1 diabetes
Myths and facts about diabetes
Food Still Better Than Supplements
Celiac questions


© 2011, The Monterey County Herald Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles