Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 25, 2012 / 4 Sivan, 5772

Travels with my iStuff

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | HONG KONG -- Here's a discovery I made while traversing South America first and now this "special administrative region" in the southernmost part of China: I might not need a standalone camera again. It can stay home along with my notebook computer.

While attaching the word "photographer" to my name is a bit audacious in the face of those who are truly talented, I do have the responsibility of providing news and photos for a locally headquartered nonprofit organization's magazines. To be printed on dead trees, those images must be of a specific resolution quality.

Out of nine pictures to be published in the five news pages of Adventist Review's June 14 issue, I'll have taken at least five of them (two others are from other sources) using Apple Inc.'s iPhone 4S' 8-megapixel camera, with two more from the 5-megapixel camera on the "new" iPad. That both of these devices could produce print-quality pictures was a rather nice surprise.

This amplifies my experience at another conference in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, a few weeks back, where, as noted here, lots of folks were using their iPads as both still and video cameras. Yes, a tablet with a 9-inch display screen is a bit unwieldy, but it's sometimes the one camera that's available at the moment you need one. And a lot of photography experts would agree that having a camera when needed is half the secret to capturing good, if not even great, images.

I repeat this information not to merely harp on the subject, but to lead to another conclusion: used properly a combination of a tablet and a smartphone can replace a bunch of other tools when one is on the road and the need to travel light is important.

Flying from Santiago, Chile, to Toronto on one leg of this jaunt, I was able to dash off a bunch of news articles for the Review, cutting and pasting from notes I'd typed in earlier, something previously reserved for a notebook computer with plenty of memory. Now, an iPad with 64 Gbytes of RAM is more than sufficient.

The photos? I could process these on either the iPhone or the iPad, queue them up for e-mail and let the magic of Wi-Fi handle the dispatch once I hit the ground. Look ma, no wires!

Joking aside, we've come a long way in the 15 years or so since computer industry pioneer Philippe Kahn stood up at a mobile computing conference in Pasadena, California and first showed off a mobile phone onto which a small, 1-megapixel camera had been grafted. A long way indeed.

There are some limitations, of course: for the other two photos in the nine-photo set, I had to download a folder of candidates via a File Transfer Protocol, or FTP, connection. On a notebook or desktop computer, there's software for that, one can type in the FTP address in a Web browser. On the iPad, my solution was FTP Client Pro, a $1.99 app from a firm called LessIsMore Development. It's a simple program that'll connect you to an FTP site, download (or upload) what you need to and un-zip the files if needed.

You don't have to have Readdle's PDF Expert, a $9.99 app for the iPad, to read documents in Adobe's Portable Document Format (PDF), but if you work with PDFs, you'll be glad you had it. This program does a lot with a PDF, including allowing you to highlight and annotate sections, using digital "sticky notes," and then extract annotated pages. Sending documents is a snap, and there's a feature that summarizes your annotations (by page number) in the body of the e-mail. Frankly, I can't easily recall a program that does so much for so little money.

With the right combination of applications and communications, I've taken my "office" halfway around the globe with little functionality lost in the process. This is, I believe, as seismic a change in computing as the notebook revolution was, again, about 15 years back.

The key difference here is the concentration of available power and capability in a package small enough to be truly portable, but large enough to be useful. As both the hardware and software evolve, along with always-available communications, either Wi-Fi or cellular, the benefits for mobile workers and for distributed workforces will, I believe, multiply exponentially.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2012, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles