Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 18, 2012/ 26 Iyar, 5772

The night Johnny Depp made me a star

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Johnny Depp made me a star for five minutes.

The lead of the new film "Dark Shadows," his eighth collaboration with director Tim Burton, elevated me to god-like status because he's not your average movie star.

The year was 2003, and the setting was Main Street in Disneyland. My worshippers numbered two, a mother and her grown daughter from Arizona, but you take worshippers where you can find them. You don't quibble over numbers of worshippers.

The occasion was the world premiere of the first "Pirates of the Caribbean" movie, and Disney went all out, with an outdoor screening, a party and a 500-foot-long red carpet.

Journalists lined the carpet, and I was one of those journalists, although I was outgunned by national media representatives on all sides. I was squeezed into a narrow space between two network TV news programs. If you've never worked a red carpet, and I assume many of you have not, it's a brutal, degrading experience that has a survival-of-the-fittest atmosphere not unlike "The Lord of the Flies."

There is a caste system, and print journalists don't fare well in these situations. We don't have a gigantic microphone to stick out to attract attention and, more important, we don't have TV cameras and blinding lights to draw celebrities.

In fact, Disney had minions walking the red carpet to apologize in advance that the biggest stars probably wouldn't have time to stop to chat. I had better luck than most that night, and Orlando Bloom and a few other stars from the film stopped by to answer a few innocuous questions.

However, there would be no Johnny, and the Disney people made a point of warning everyone, including the big guns on either side of me, that Depp wouldn't stop to talk. You know you're a big star when you don't have to talk to the major media outlets.

When all the lesser stars had passed, excitement built among the fans screaming and waving from behind a barrier that was situated a few feet beyond the media.

The only star left to walk by was Depp, and he approached briskly surrounded by a phalanx of personal handlers, security and Disney folk.

He glanced in my direction, and stopped walking. A smile crossed his face, and he pointed at me, telling his entourage that he was making an unscheduled detour. They were stunned. This was not part of the plan.

But I had interviewed the actor on at least three earlier occasions, and he was nice enough to remember me. I thought our sessions had gone well, but you can't count on celebrities to remember you. It can be pretty humiliating during introductions, so I usually just extend my hand and wait for them to say either: "Nice to see you again" or "Nice to meet you."

In their defense, they meet a lot of interviewers during a career, and we become a blur to them sometimes. On the other hand, if you have met with someone a number of times, it wouldn't kill you to acknowledge it.

To Depp's credit, he remembered, and he walked over, ignoring the honchos next to me. He gave me a warm handshake and a hug, and we spoke in whispers so no one could overhear our conversation.

I asked him what the hell he was doing in a Disney pirate movie? It seemed so out of character for someone who gravitated toward small, quirky films, and openly defied the lure of big-studio blockbusters like this. He wasn't the type to chase after a hefty paycheck.

You might have suspected this, but I can assure you that Johnny is a straight-shooter, and he didn't duck my question.

"I did it for my daughter," he said with a shrug. "She loves pirates."

We spoke for about five minutes, much to the chagrin of the people trying to hurry him along, but he would not be rushed.

In the meantime, a drama has begun to unfold behind me that I was unaware of until later. My wife was standing behind me and she had struck up an instant friendship with the mother and daughter confined to the spectator area.

They were serious Johnny Depp fans, and they asked my wife if she would mind using their camera to take a picture of the actor as he rushed by. Because of their location, they couldn't get a clear shot of anyone walking the red carpet.

When Johnny stopped to speak with me, my wife took an album full of photos for the women, and then returned the camera after Depp left. They looked at me like I was someone special, and I allowed them to gush their gratitude. They said they couldn't believe that Johnny Depp actually knew who I was.

Frankly, neither could I.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles