Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

‘Superjobs’ leaving us super-stressed

By Susan Reimer




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A recent magazine article about how the human worker behaves under stress was accompanied by an illustration of a baseball player waiting for the pitch to arrive while teammates crowded around him, shouting and hooting, taking cell phone pictures and giving him raspberries.

That's exactly what I have been telling people lately, using a sports analogy to explain how the many tasks now required of me at work have driven their request to the bottom of the list.

"I can only pay attention to the fastballs coming at my head," I say.

The Wall Street Journal calls it the "superjob," and in a recent article described how the pastry chef is also laying tile in the restaurant kitchen as employers do more with less. Or rather, fewer.

Not only are we taking on extra tasks that have little to do with our primary job description, but we are handling the work of the employees who used to sit next to us and were either downsized out the door or never replaced when they left voluntarily.

The Journal tried to characterize this as the need for flexibility in a fast-changing world, but I think that's putting a shine on the apple with the rotten core. Employers have figured out that workers will make two sandwiches out of one slice of bread as long as they fear losing their jobs, so why not keep asking for those two sandwiches?

Did you ever think that a furlough would look good to you? It does if the alternative is no job at all.

The recession caused many companies to shrink their workforce, and the slow recovery has made them skittish about making the expensive investment in new employees. Corporate profits are rising, while employment is not.

But the shrunken workforce is a reason for that increase in profits. Why not continue to squeeze the workers you have until demand forces you to hire?

Employees are reluctant to push back or complain. They know well enough that there is someone outside the plant gate ready to take the job they have if they are not willing to do it.

And, to be fair, the plates of supervisors are just as full, leaving them little room or time to make the changes necessary to fix somebody else's problem.

The downside of this for any employer is that, at some point, multitasking workers become confused or exhausted — and, therefore, less productive.

Talk to most of your neighbors about their jobs, and they will tell you that by Friday night they are so fried, they can no longer hold a thought in their heads or speak in complete sentences.

"We eat peanut butter crackers for dinner and are in bed by 9," said my neighbor, speaking for himself and his wife, both of whom work as lawyers for the disenfranchised.

For some workers, especially those who are young and eager, this piling on can be a welcome expansion of skills and responsibility. But some of us older workers, who have been told that we should not — or cannot — retire, are starting to see the toll this takes on our sleep, our blood pressure or, simply, on our outlook on life.

The article I described at the beginning of this column, with the illustration of the baseball player, was about leaders in high-stakes jobs and how they performed in the global financial crisis. But pressure on the job is no longer the province of the high and mighty.

For example, next time I find myself in the hospital, I would like for there to be enough nurses on the floor for one of them to answer my bell. And life would be easier if I could find somebody to help me at the hardware store or if there were a couple more cashiers at the grocery store.

"I can only pay attention to the fastballs coming at my head." I say it quite often these days. And, sports fans or not, everyone seems to understand exactly what I mean.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Susan Reimer is a columnist for The Baltimore Sun. Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

On entitlements, younger generation has its say

Missing the good old days of the Cold War

Friends can be risky business for teens

In Social Security reports, a story of women's priorities

One soon-to-be grandmother's advice about sweating the small stuff

In my family's universe, I am not a star

Is America ready for a new ‘life stage’?

Paying for good behavior is worth every penny

He's on vacation, but she needs a break

Conan says what we wish we could

Body image issues get a new meaning

A spreadsheet for happiness? Thanks, but I'll take the wine



© 2011, The Baltimore Sun. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles