Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 17, 2011/ 13 Iyar, 5771

Break out the bell bottoms

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The wife and I have a plan to survive this lousy economy. We're breaking out our bell bottoms.

Ah, yes, you refer to a recent article in the Financial Times by Spencer Jakab. He writes about a growing fear that America may relive the '70s.

That's right. Slow growth, high unemployment, high inflation -- "stagflation" is what we called it then!

There certainly is that fear it will happen again.

Yeah, and with government spending out of control, housing values continuing to tank and the dollar's value dropping faster than consumer confidence, the future isn't looking so rosy.

These are all matters of concern.

At least in the '70s we had a young baby-boom population entering the work force to generate taxes to pay for all the promises the government made.

A fair point.

Back then, seven or eight workers were paying into Social Security for every retiree. Now, as baby boomers retire, there are only 2.8 workers paying into Social Security for every retiree receiving benefits!

That isn't so good.

Well, I may be an average guy, but it seems to me we have a real mess on our hands. We have to get our spending and entitlement programs under control or we're sunk.

But the Democrats got slaughtered in the last round of elections. Republicans offered up an aggressive strategy to address spending.

Yeah, and the Democrats are demagoguing, as usual, and I worry that many voters won't have the stomach to do what we must do. If we don't get our affairs in order, our economy will be far worse than it was in the '70s.

What does this have to do with bell bottoms?

Well, back in the '70s, people were so miserable they needed something nutty to do to take their minds off their worries. That's why they wore nutty clothing and invented disco!

I thought disco came out of the club scene in New York City as minority groups rebelled against the rock culture.

Maybe that was the case in New York, but by the time it hit "flyover country," it was about forgetting how miserable we were.

That is an interesting thesis.

Think about it. The average Joe was shackled in every way. It was hard to find work, hard to find decent pay, even harder to keep up with high interest rates and the rising cost of everything. Disco gave us an out!

How so?

The nutty pants, silky shirts and gold chains made us feel silly. Dancing under the disco ball into the wee hours made us forget. And that is exactly what the wife and I are trying to do as the economy continues to stumble.

You are reliving the disco era?

You better believe it. Since money is awfully tight, we went into the attic and found some of our old duds. My lime-green polyester leisure suit and white patent-leather shoes are as good as ever.

Oh, brother.

The wife helped me part my hair down the middle, David Cassidy-style. She wanted to try the Farrah Fawcett hair, but who can afford the electricity for the hair dryer these days?

Where do you dance?

Thankfully, the disco ball is still hanging down at the local VFW. The wife and I throw on our '70s duds and head down every weekend for 75-cent beers and dancing.

But what about disco tunes?

That's the best part. Gloria Gaynor's "I Will Survive" is still in the jukebox. We'll keep singing and dancing to it all night long until this cruddy economy finally goes away.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles