Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 5, 2011 / 1 Iyar, 5771

Our special snarky summer movie guide

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When East Coast people spend too much time indoors because of bad weather, they suffer from a condition called "cabin fever," which makes them lash out at their California cousins.

"At least we have weather and a change of seasons," they are likely to say bitterly. "How do you people in California even know it's summer without a calendar?"

Well, we don't need no stinkin' calendar.

We recognize the change in seasons by the trailers we see in movie theaters.

For instance, I was in a theater recently when a trailer for a movie called "Cowboys and Aliens" was shown. At first, I didn't think it was an actual trailer. I thought it was a joke, or at the very least, a short promotional film for the preservation of classic films or something.

At some point, I realized that it was indeed a real movie, with a real director (Jon Favreau of "Iron Man" fame), real actors (Harrison Ford of "Indiana Jones" fame and Daniel Craig of "James Bond" fame) and a real producer (Steven Spielberg of Steven Spielberg fame).

Once I got over the shock of a genre-bending movie called "Cowboys and Aliens," I had a light-bulb-over-the-head realization: the seasons had changed, and summer was upon us.

Seriously, if "Cowboys and Aliens" is not the title of a summer movie, what is?

This is the season of silly movies, but it is an important movie season, when at least 40 percent of the movie industry's annual box-office take is collected.

But this column has trouble taking anything seriously, so here is our annual advance assessment of the silly summer season. It should be noted that our distinguished panel of movie professionals (me) is flying blind because no one has seen these movies. That's what so great about summer movies — you can mock them without seeing them because they generally fit into familiar categories, such as sequels, prequels, comic books, video games, toys and Disneyland rides.

Here is our guide to the summer's hottest movies, in order of opening dates.

1. "Fast Five" (April 29) — This is why calendars are useless. Hollywood keeps starting summer earlier, and the fifth chapter in the "Fast and Furious" saga kicked off the season with screeching tires. The franchise has been tweaked to make it look less like an ode to street racing, and more like an international caper film. To add weight to the production, The Rock was added to the cast.

2. "Thor" (May 6) — This is one of the biggest question marks of the season, and some people aren't sure if it can beat "Fast Five's" second week in theaters. The "God of Thunder" is not the best-known comic-book character, and the actor who plays him (Chris Hemsworth) is not exactly a known commodity. Oscar-winner Natalie Portman is part of the cast, but her name couldn't save a recent stoner film.

3. "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" (May 20) — Johnny Depp decided to forgo his eight-figure salary so that an Oscar-worthy script could be commissioned for this latest money-making machine. Not really.

4. "The Hangover, Part II" (May 26) — I never made a secret of my bewilderment at the phenomenal success of this bachelor party comedy. I've watched it since, and I am only slightly more impressed. But a sequel was inevitable, and the man-children find themselves in a situation far from The Strip this time. What happens in Bangkok, ends up in a sequel in Bangkok.

5. "X-Men: First Class" (June 3) — When you run out of ideas, make a prequel. Tell fans how their favorite characters started. It worked for "Star Trek."

6. "Green Lantern" (June 17) — Ryan Reynolds as a super hero? He's tall, dark and handsome, but a bit of a lightweight comedy actor, don't you think? Maybe I'm wrong. This is an important film for comic-book fans, so they'll be the final arbiters.

7. "Cars 2" (June 24) — Pixar has a license to print money, and this will be no exception. With Pixar big shot John Lasseter at the wheel, this will not only do huge business at the box office, but it will probably be really good as well. In Pixar we trust.

8. "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" (July 1) — Hey, where's Megan Fox?

9. "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part II" (July 15) — I felt cheated by Part I. The filmmakers split J.K. Rowlings' finale into two movies, and the first one felt like half a movie to me. Die-hard fans didn't care, of course, because Harry can do no wrong. I am hopeful that this will feel like a whole movie.

10. "Captain America: The First Avenger" (July 22) — Set in World War II, this film is a precursor to next year's comic-book adventure "The Avengers."

11. "Cowboys and Aliens" (July 29) — It's a sci-fi Western. What could go wrong?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles