Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 26, 2010/ 13 Sivan 5770

A Mosque At Ground Zero

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A mosque to be built built near Ground Zero in Lower Manhattan has stirred up a lot of passion. There are many issues involved here, most of which will be likely dealt with irrationally. Let's try to bring a little rationality to the table:

Constitutionality. Strictly in Constitutional terms, there is nothing "prohibiting the free exercise thereof" of worshipping Allah. Muslims, like everyone else, are free to worship however they see fit. Assuming nothing in New York City building codes prohibit the erection of a mosque in a particular area, then the Cordoba Initiative, a group of ostensibly "peaceful progressive Muslims" cannot be legally prevented from building near Ground Zero.

Unlike a majority of leftists, this is one American who supports the rule of law — even when I find it aggravating. Of course were I to believe, like so many leftists, that the Constitution is a "living document," perhaps I would endeavor to find an activist judge with similar sympathies, one who would simply "transcend" such an "impediment" and kill the project. If I could pull it off, is there any doubt that those screaming the loudest would be the very same leftists who consider such tactics perfectly permissible when it applies to anything that conflicts with their worldview? Perhaps it's time for a "boycott" of New York City, if you get my drift.

Cultural sensitivity. Here's where the rubber meets the road. Despite all protests to the contrary, I find it impossible to believe two things:

One, that these "progressive" Muslims are unaware of the grievous insult this project represents to most Americans. One could say the insulted Americans are "insensitive," but such an assessment is itself the essence of insensitivity. It is beyond dispute that this particular area of the United States endured the worst domestic attack in our nation's history. That many Americans are yet unready to "turn the other cheek" — especially while the war against Islamic terror is ongoing — is very understandable.

Two, the word Islam itself means "submission." Again, many Americans see this project as an "in your face" attempt to further insinuate Islamic fundamentalist goals and ambitions into the fabric of U.S. culture in the most blatant way possible. The counter-argument is that groups like al Qaeda, et al, would be just as upset that Muslims who support "peace with infidels" would build a mosque near the center of their greatest triumph over "American imperialism."

Perhaps I'm naive, but I suspect any manner of official Islamic presence at Ground Zero, no matter how at odds with the fundamentalist view of Islam, would be considered a great victory by the terrorists. Building a worldwide Caliphate is their ambition, and anyone who thinks an ostensibly progressive mosque couldn't be "fundamentalized" in the future is smoking the same hopium as every progressive who can't imagine that "creeping Sharia" is anything more than unreasonable fear-mongering.

Really? Ask Europeans if such "creeping-ness" is preposterous. When the Archbishop of Canterbury suggests that certain aspects of Sharia Law are "unavoidable," as he did in 2008, the bigger picture becomes clearer: we already have Westerners in positions of power more willing to submit to "some" Islam. How much becomes the ultimate question. It is a question that has to have been considered by the Cordoba Initiative — and one that Americans will be wrestling with for the foreseeable future.

The other thing about cultural sensitivity with regards to Muslims is that it seems every one-sided. Much of the Middle East is openly hostile to non-Islamics, aka "dhimmis," and Saudi Arabia bans the construction of churches completely. I would suggest that if so-called moderate Muslims were as engaged in changing such attitudes in the Muslim world as they are in the United States, they might get a better reception from the average American. Americans might even be more open-minded if there were evidence of wholesale rejection of Islamo-fascism by moderate Muslims. But there is not, which brings me to the next category.

"Moderate" Islam. Ever since 9/11, starting with George W. Bush — and continuing with gusto in the Obama administration — Americans have been told the "overwhelming majority" of Muslims are "on our side." Perhaps I am more cynical than the average elitist, but I believe most Muslims are neutral at best — exactly like any other group of people whose primary objective is putting food on the table for their families. But pardon me, and I suspect many other Americans, if I draw no comfort from that fact. Why? We've also been told fundamentalists represent only five to ten percent of Muslims worldwide. The number of Muslims worldwide? Between 1.2 and 1.5 billion. Using both low-end figures that means that there are over fifty million Muslims who might be persuaded to engage in jihad.

It might be too much to ask moderate Muslims to forcefully refute a bunch of remorseless killers in their midst, much like trying to find out what happened in a Mafia-controlled neighborhood where "no one saw a thing" after a crime was committed. But in terms of real-world consequences, whether or not moderate Muslims look the other way or actively abet their fundamentalist brethren, the results are distressingly the same: thousands of innocent people blown to bits by fanatics, year in, year out.

Many self-professed moderate Muslims like to say much of the animus Americans feel towards Muslims is media-generated. On that we have no disagreement. The phony "Koran flushed down the toilet at Guantanamo Bay" story is the epitome of such media irresponsibility.

Yet what do moderate Muslims themselves make of the violent reaction to that story across the entire Muslim world — even after its debunking — resulting in government buildings being burned and fifteen people being killed? What do they make of the voting patterns in several Muslim countries where fundamentalist views garner the majority of the popular vote? Those are not media exaggerations. Those are facts, which leads me to my last category.

Follow the money. Where is the Cordoba Initiative getting its funding? While a thorough investigation of such funding might be inappropriate (or even illegal) in peacetime, during wartime anything which has the potential to advance the jihadist agenda within the United States should be scrutinized. The "money trail" would be the best indication of the real motives behind building a mosque at Ground Zero. If the funding is from non-terrorists sources, such would bolster the contentions of the Cordoaba Initiative and their supporters. On the other hand, if it came from terrorist sympathizers or terrorists organizations themselves, that would pretty much stick a fork in the whole project.

If the Cordoba Initiative is on the up-and-up, they would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate their funding is completely legitimate, wouldn't they? Unfortunately, such an investigation would likely be characterized as a "witch hunt" by the American left — and several so-called moderate Muslim political groups. Muslim groups who themselves should be more thoroughly scrutinized.

Don't think so? How many Nazi organizations named as an "unindicted co-conspirator" by the Justice Department would have been allowed to freely operate in this country during WWll? Yet the Council of American Islamic Relations (CAIR) was give that designation by Justice in 2007, and they are still in operation, despite evidence they funded Hamas.

In a column for the New York Post on Sept 12, 2001, I pleaded with my fellow Americans not to let the actions of nineteen terrorists color their attitudes towards Muslims in general. In the last ten years, American have demonstrated enormous restraint with regard to Islam, in spite of ongoing atrocities — and a couple of failed attempts that would have tested the limits of that restraint. How about if Northwest Flight 253 had been blown to bits by the underwear bomber, or Times Square was littered with the bodies of innocents?

Would we still be hearing about building a mosque at Ground Zero, even from liberals?

Assuming their motives are pure, it's time for the Cordoba Initiative to demonstrate an equal amount of restraint. Can you build a mosque at Ground Zero? Absolutely. Can you ever make such a decision sit well the majority of Americans? Absolutely not. The American left likes to say that a mosque at Ground Zero will reveal "who we are as a people."

This is one American who says the shoe is on the other foot: it's time so-called progressive Muslims reveal who they are as a people.

Mutual respect is just that — mutual.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


05/23/10:
Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles