Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 3, 2005 / 24 Nisan, 5765

Letters from School

By Pat Sajak


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The more things change…

Dear Mr. and Mrs. DeLay,

Tommy is still showing impressive leadership qualities in class. Frankly, I was surprised by the 100% favorable vote on the hot lunch issue in our classroom inasmuch as the rest of the school was more evenly split.

I am also enclosing the 25 cents you sent in for the recent field trip. Jimmy Johnson (his father, as you know, owns the bank in town) was kind enough to pay Tommy's bus fare.

Sincerely,

Mrs. Sheila Owens


Dear Mr. and Mrs. Moore,

I'm afraid Michael continues to display many of the same behavioral problems we talked about at our last meeting. While I'm impressed with a kindergarten student who is able to spell "Eisenhower", I don't believe the President is a Nazi, and I don't find the bathroom walls the proper forum for political opinion. He also continues to steal desserts from the other students' lunch bags.

And I must remind you once again that this school has strict rules about its uniforms. That filthy raincoat is not allowed in class!

Mrs. Boyd


Dear Mrs. Byrd,

I hope this note finds you well. We are all so grateful to Robert for what he has done for the entire school. After years of attempts by teachers and administrators, it took a mere child to convince the state to increase our funding. We now have so much money available, we are trying to find new ways to spend it. Robert has suggested a six-lane highway between the gym and the principal's office. He is a fine young man, except for that unusual habit of cutting small holes in sheets. I hope to see you at the groundbreaking ceremony for the school dam.

With thanks,

Mrs. Guthrie


Dear Mr. and Mrs. Franken,

Please call the school office as soon as possible. We are concerned about Al's attitude ever since we closed down the school radio station. It seemed like a good idea, but no one was listening. Mr. and Mrs. Franken, I know Al has performing ambitions, but he simply is NOT funny.

Sincerely,

Mr. Howard Halsey


To: The Parents of George W. Bush

From: The Headmaster

I wanted to personally send this commendification for the wonderful work your son has done here at the Academy. We have much proudness here at this veneratable institution. We hope we have passed on to him our traditions of educatings and we hope his future is filled with success and blisses.

With Sincereness,

Thomas Haynes

Headmaster


Dear Mr. & Mrs. Rodham,

I thought you should know that Hillary has been of great help to one of her fellow third grade students, and his parents wanted me to pass along their thanks. As you may know, little Sammy Carlson was accused by some of the girls of "inappropriate" behavior. It was Hillary's strong defense of him that turned the tide. We are currently looking into a vast fourth grade conspiracy, and we will keep you informed.

Gratefully,

Helen Carter


Dear Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy,

I believe all the legal issues have been resolved concerning Teddy's incident with Linda at the school's pool. May I suggest, should something similar ever happen, the proper place to go for help is to the swimming coach, and NOT his parents' lawyer. Linda is just fine, and her family is enjoying their new Cadillac.

Respectfully,

Mr. Daniel Lacey


Dear Mrs. Rather,

I'm sorry to report that Danny has not rid himself of some of the "unusual" traits we talked about at our last meeting. His habit of shouting questions to the Principal at our Assemblies is quite disruptive. I also believe it is not appropriate to answer the question, "And how are we today, Danny?" with, "Better than a wet possum rolling on a dry lawn." And even his fellow students roll their eyes when he tries to convince them the scribbled notes he brought into class are Lincoln's original copy of The Gettysburg Address. I know he's a challenge, Mrs. Rather, but you must have courage.

Sincerely,

Mrs. Abigail Rogers

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Pat Sajak's column by clicking here.

JWR contributor Pat Sajak is the recipient of three Emmys, a Peoples’ Choice Award and a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He's currently the host of Wheel of Fortune. To visit his website, please here.



Archives

© 2005, Pat Sajak

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles