Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 20, 2005 / 11 Iyar, 5765

Who the (Expletive) Am I?

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Boy, you talk about incivility in politics these days.


I got home late a few weeks ago and checked my e-mail. I had a note from woodhouse@americansforsocialsecurity.com. Apparently, a Brad Woodhouse, communications director for Americans United for Social Security, had sent me an e-mail.


I smelled a rat.


I get several e-mails a week from woodhouse@americansforsocialsecurity.com. Though the group portrays itself as a national coalition of Democrats, Republicans and Independents united "to protect the most successful retirement program in our nation's history," its real name should be "Democrats Out to Get Bush."


After all, two prominent Democrats — Steve Hildebrand, a Democratic campaign veteran and Paul Tewes, former political director of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee (DSCC) — have lead roles at the Americans United group. And prior to his current job, Woodhouse was the spokesperson for the DSCC.


I opened the e-mail to see a column credited to Mark Mellman, yet another Democratic campaign veteran. The column said President Bush's attempt to "cut Social Security for 70% of Americans" could be compared to Napoleon's disastrous attempt to invade Russia. It said Bush had lost the Social Security debate and that Democrats and "pro Social Security" groups had won.


Agitated, I decided to write back.


It's worth noting at this point that I'd enjoyed a few pints at the pub earlier that evening. As the fine Irish brew percolated through my system, here is what I wrote:


"You and your party have no ideas, no courage, no guts, nothing to offer anyone or anything, if this piece of propaganda you sent out is what you believe. You lie and exploit the old and the feeble in order to scare and cloud and confuse… You are a wart on the heel of a foot that is struggling to move forward."


A wart on the heel of a foot that is struggling to move forward? OK, I may have had a few snorts of whiskey with those pints.


"… Were a Democratic president looking to face down this [Social Security] problem, you'd be shouting an entirely different message, wouldn't you? You care not for truth in any way. You care not either for anything that benefits the good people of this country — only what benefits your paying clients, who happen to be Democrats."

Donate to JWR


My blood was really pumping now. I felt the sweet indignation a girl must know when she says to her ex-boyfriend, "You are sooooo immature!"


"I trust and hope the good American people will see through your lies," I continued, "and most of them will, but you know that it is the old and the feeble and the tired who you seek to scare… I don't know how you sleep at night."


Ah, the old "I don't know how you sleep at night" closer. Satisfied with my diatribe, I fired off the e-mail, then fell into a deep, peaceful sleep.


The next morning, I had an e-mail response from woodhouse@americansforsocialsecuritycom. I don't know if it was actually Woodhouse or some other staffer, but apparently it was he.


Did he send additional information to strengthen his points? Perhaps he sought to demonstrate the weakness of my argument? Or maybe he had a good laugh over my pint-induced indignation?


Nope. His response was short and sweet and left me stunned:


"Who the (expletive that rhymes with 'truck') are you and why do I care?"


Sheesh. I know things have got heated in Washington, but I had no idea they'd sunk so low.


My mother says that if anyone needs to use such language to make his point, then his argument must be weak, and that is true.


Maybe it's because Democrats have no fresh ideas on Social Security that they demagogue (and cuss). Maybe they think their best hope at winning back power in 2006 is to misinform, rather than engage in honest debate.


I always thought Democrats were for the little guy, but I guess the only little guys they're really for are the ones they can scare into voting for them.


But then who the (expletive) am I and why should you care?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles