Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 25, 2004 / 5 Sivan, 5764

Desert (brain)storm

By Jay D. Homnick


http://www.jewishworldreview.com | In the desert no edifice stands. There are no walls to keep out the urgency of life. No artifice oils the gaps between transient lives in motion. No shadow obscures petty scuffles for dominance.


Here life teems under the sparest fašade, raw and real and rough. The terms for survival are stark, daring the soul into ultimate alertness.


In the desert a man is a man.

Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


In the desert a man knows his enemies. He can see the sun bearing down; the hiss of the rattlesnake is an echo in his ear. He seeks to carry on, even as overhead the buzzard circles, marking him for its carrion.


In the desert a man knows who does not care. The coyote is no friend, scratching for his own sustenance. The camel glides through unconcerned, hoarding his private stock.


In the desert a man knows his friends. The gentle cloud hovers overhead, bringing a window of respite before dissipating. The hardy palm hunches and shelters; the tinkly spring is Nature's smile. At evenfall, the breezes come and whisk the sun away before his scold turns into scald.


In such a place, a man can be taught the principles of life. No drama, no romance, no glory. Gritty everyday boundaries, the better to fashion a home for creative life. Then, only then, can we take him into the Promised Land.


In the desert a man is a man.

Note the passages that begin the book of Numbers (1:2,3), known in the original Hebrew as Bamidbar (In The Desert). "Calculate the heads of the entire community of the People of Israel by their families and households, until (you reach) a number of names, every male by their skulls. From the age of twenty years and above, every member of the army of Israel, you should count them by their military units."


The first verse concentrates on the personal and domestic characteristics of its subjects. The second veers abruptly into matters martial; from Social Security numbers to Selective Service numbers, you might say.


Within the context that we have outlined, these passages assume a clear meaning. As the Scripture prepares to celebrate Jewish individuality by counting each person, it outlines parallel tracks by which that is measured.


Man is measured for what he is, for his essence, for his character. That is expressed by his head, his skull standing tall, his family, his household, his place in the community. These are sketched in the first verse.


Man is also measured by what he does, his work, his actions, his achievements. This is perceived through his membership in a standing Army of the Jewish people. It is a metaphor for everything he does to nudge the world onward to perfection.


In the desert a man is a man. A man is what he is. A man is what he does. The personal, familial, communal man and the business, military and activist man meet in the desert and they are one.

Donate to JWR


The war in Iraq really began in the desert in 1991. This is not the quagmire of marshy Vietnam, where all things bright and beautiful are sucked into the swamp. Here a clarity can emerge. We can see who wants to build the world, who wants to wreck the world. Our boys and girls are out there, their lives on the line: we need them to be our eyes and they need us to see.


The same holds true in the desert of Gaza, where our Israeli brethren and sistren face down a vicious foe, even while the Egyptian guardians of the cold peace look on nonchalantly from their watchtowers. It is not enough for our hearts to warm to the plight of these young soldiers. They must have our minds sharp, not lulled by time, not gulled by slime, nor pulled into the crime of random murderousness.


Sundown on May 25 through sundown of May 27 is the Jewish holiday of Shavuos, celebrating anniversary number 3316 of the Encounter at Sinai. Every sociological study of Jewish behavior finds this to be the least observed of holidays. The theory is that since each holiday has a specific observance — matzo on Passover, the ram's horn on Rosh Hashana, fasting on Yom Kippur, the sukkah hut on Sukkos, candles on Hannukah, costumes on Purim — it occupies a place in the public imagination.


This one holiday was left completely as the clay for human creativity: "And you should fashion a holiday of Shavuos." (Deuteronomy 16:10). As such, it has suffered for the paucity of our imaginations.


After all, it is hard to think about what it means to be camped in a desert, surrounded by human enemies and strafing natural conditions, yet buoyed by a vision of freedom for all mankind. Tough to relate to the challenges of following the rule book to curb rapacious appetites, yet fostering passion to meet life's great missions and keeping the stamina to survive life's punishing battles. That seemed so remote from our prosperous life in the modern world.


Well, it used to, anyway.

Forgive me, please, just this once and allow me to step out of my journalistic role as observer and commentator. I would like to issue an appeal to every person on this planet who believes that his or her life has been enhanced in some way by what David Ben-Gurion called the "Book of books". Even if you have never celebrated or acknowledged this holiday before, show solidarity with our "slogging" desert fighters. Please invest time on this holiday meditating on the values for which we risk our sons and daughters.


If you are a Jew, spend time in the synagogue, spend time at a festive meal with loved ones. If you are not a Jew, you might choose a personal approach and place that provides inspiration. In either case, please be creative and thoughtful in acknowledging the extent of the revolution in the orientation of humankind that has been effected by that book. I feel confident in assuring you that you will experience a palpable moment of growth.


And please write to share with me the results of this special effort; I will read every word, and respond if possible. Because if we are together in the desert, fighting side by side, first to survive and then to build our promised land, I don't need to check your lineage or your skin color, I know that you are my friend.


In the desert a man knows his friends.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Jay D. Homnick is the author of many books and essays on Jewish political and religious affairs. Comment by clicking here.

Up

© 2004, Jay D. Homnick