First Person

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

10 things I've learned from my teenagers

By Megan Wallgren




Teens can get a bad rap, but there are lots of things adults can learn from teens about living life to its fullest


JewishWorldReview.com | Teens often get a bad rap from adults. Sure, they can be moody and irresponsible, but adults can learn a lot from the part child, part not, enigmas living in their homes.


1. Love your self(ies). There are many critics of the selfie. It is used and abused. But, I like teens' attitudes towards pictures of themselves. My daughters comment very little on how they look in the picture. The important thing about the picture seems to be, "I was here," — not, "How's my hair." That's the attitude I need to have more often and not be afraid to put myself in the frame.


2. Keep in touch. While it is true that face to face interaction is important to building good, healthy relationships, texting and social media can keep those relationships afloat. Teens are experts at keeping in touch. Social media helps me keep-up on the lives of friends from my past and keep close tabs on my family. Sometimes, it's easiest to reach out in a quick post, text or email.


3. Read. Teens may groan about the classic literature or current events clips they are forced to read, but reading is the best way to learn about people and places just out of reach. Reading not only educates people about the facts of the world we live in, but the ideas and feelings of those who live there.


4. Never underestimate comfort. Teens are famous for playing favorites. Whether it's a sweatshirt, tv show, reading spot or a cup or hot cocoa, embrace what makes you feel relaxed and in control. Life is stressful, give yourself a little pick me up with some of your favorite things.


5. Be patient. On the surface, it may seem teens are an impatient lot, but they are experts as taking life as it comes their way. What happens in a teen's life each day is still largely dependant on teachers, coaches, parents and other adults. They are always waiting for someone to drive them somewhere or decide how much homework they have, and (mostly) handle what's thrown their way without too much complaining.


6. Forgive freely. I've made some pretty big mistakes in parenthood (one even resulting in the death of a hamster.) My kids forgive me. When I get cranky, that's OK. Most teens are also more likely to forgive friends' mistakes or perceived slights from acquaintances (with or without apologies) than adults. Everyone makes mistakes, just let them go.


7. Reinvent yourself often. Whether it's a new haircut, style of clothes or favorite activity, teens embrace change. Adults could learn a thing or two about letting go of the past and trying something new. Have you always wished you were one of those people who . . . ? Well, go ahead and do it, already.


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.



8. A little kindness goes a long way. It's a harsh world, and a kind word can make a big difference to someone. I'm not saying there are no bullies or mean girls out there, but I think most teens get the picture that kindness costs you nothing, but can mean everything.


9. Don't be afraid to try. I have a list in my head of things I already know I am, or am pretty sure I would be, horrible at. My teens haven't turned on this filter, yet. They're not afraid to try.


10. Adventure is out there. Most often, teens look at each day as one with possibilities. They find adventure in meeting new people, trying new things and even appreciate the excitement in things gone wrong. They're experts at enjoying every- day life. Whether it involves where to hang out after school, where to go to college or places they'll visit far in the future, my teens love to make plans. No matter how old you are, life is full of everyday adventures and the future is full of opportunity. Make some plans of your own.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Megan Wallgren is a freelance writer and mother of four energetic children









© 2014, FamilyShare

Quantcast