Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 30, 2014 / 30 Nissan, 5774

Washington Is Hollywood for the Ugly

By Roger Simon



JewishWorldReview.com | Washington is Hollywood for ugly people.

That line — or a variation thereof — was first used by Paul Begala in the 1980s. Begala says he may have heard it in a bar — which is where most truths about Washington and Hollywood originate.

This Saturday is the nerd prom, officially called the White House Correspondents' Association dinner, a gigantic bash where the powerful of Washington, the beautiful of Hollywood and the geeks of the national press corps gather together in one giant banquet room to do ... what?

Critics say the whole affair stinks of elitism, classism and narcissism. (In my experience, it stinks mostly of bourbon.)

The New York Times, which has not attended the dinner since 2007, said through one editor: "It makes it appear that everything in one Washington is a big game, theater. But that a couple times a year the press and pols take their costumes off, sing together, mingle with celebrities and act like we are all in it together. I just don't like the appearance."

A blogger called BooMan wrote a few years ago: "The primary importance of the WHCA Dinner is to document yearly just how out of touch our elite politicians and journalists are with the rest of the country and to confirm the rest of us in our hatred and resentment of this class of people who have led us like thieves and incompetents for decades without let up."

To which I say firmly and with resolve: "Can I get another drink here?"

To me, it's a party. It's fun. Though, some journalists squeezed into too-tight tuxedos or ball gowns defensively say they use the party to get information from powerful sources.

I have attended the dinner for almost 30 years, and the most powerful person I ever talked to was Vanna White.

White has been flipping letters since 1982 on "Wheel of Fortune," which is the longest-running syndicated game show in television history and is seen in 60 countries across the globe.

Name me a politician who can say that.

I went up to White, and she extended her hand.

"Hi, my name is Vanna White," she said.

Hi, I am James Carville's celebrity double, I said.

"You look nothing like James Carville," she said.

Thank you, I said.

I didn't know what to say next.

Would you like to dance? I asked.



"I believe the Marine Band is playing 'The Stars and Stripes Forever,'" she pointed out.

We could sort of krump along to that, I said.

She wished me a very good evening and left. Probably in search of a vowel.

But tell me how that leads to "hatred and resentment" of a "class of people who have led us like thieves and incompetents for decades without let up"?

True, I once sat at a table with the late Robert Bork. He was alive at the time (I think) and was the former U.S. appellate judge who was rejected by the Senate for the Supreme Court.

Bork became famous during the "Saturday Night Massacre," in which President Richard Nixon ordered U.S. Attorney General Elliot Richardson to fire Watergate special prosecutor Archibald Cox.

Richardson resigned rather than do so. His top deputy, William Ruckelshaus, also resigned rather than do so. Bork was next in line, and he had no problem firing Cox.

In his posthumously published memoirs, Bork said Nixon had promised him the next seat on the Supreme Court. But Nixon resigned from office before he got a chance to give it to him.

I had no idea what to say to Bork, who was seated across the table from me.

Even though the number of journalists who cover the White House full time probably numbers fewer than 150, the dinner squeezes about 2,600 people into the main ballroom of the Washington Hilton. And except for when the president of the United States stands up and tells the jokes that have been written for him, it can be quite noisy.

Hey, that Nixon was some liar, wasn't he? I yelled at Bork.

Bork replied either "I could squash you like a bug" or "I can't hear you." I do not know which.

Over the years, I have met Washington's and Hollywood's power elite at the nerd prom. They are the best-known entertainers, the most powerful politicians and the most influential journalists of the day.

And I always tell them the same thing: Power fades, and fame is fleeting. Sic transit gloria mundi.

That last one is Latin for "drink up."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.

Roger Simon Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast