Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 30, 2014 / 30 Nissan, 5774

When every e-mailing politician is your best friend

By Mary Schmich



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I do my best to answer all my email, which is to say I live in a quicksand of failed intentions.

But when I got an email the other day from Bruce Rauner, who's running for governor of Illinois, I knew I had to answer because it was just so gosh darn friendly.

The email arrived with the subject line "quick note."

Aren't words without caps super-friendly?

It was also very friendly of him to promise brevity. True friends know not to ramble on about stuff that is only slightly less interesting than the hourly price of corn.

Anyway, in the spirit of brevity, let me cut to the chase and share what he wrote:

"Very quickly wanted to dash off a quick note to you about what we've been up to.

"In the last week I've been to Champaign, Downers Grove, Kankakee, Springfield and many more communities to talk about our ideas about how to bring back Illinois.

"My favorite event though was discussing how I'll make education our top priority in a room full of 1,200 teachers and Pat Quinn!

"Response overall has been fantastic. Folks love our shared priorities: more jobs, efficient government, better schools, and term limits to get rid of the career politicians.

"If you agree, I would deeply appreciate it if you would consider a donation or volunteering.

"Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

"BR

"Sent from my iPad"

Ordinarily, I think people who share other people's emails are on a moral par with people who sneak-read other people's journals. In this case, I think it's OK because no matter how personal BR's email pretends to be, it's about as personal as a supermarket flier, and that's what has inspired me to dash off the following reply:

Subject: hey you

First, BR, let me quickly say a quick thing: Do you like to type on an iPad?

I go nuts trying to do that, buddy. I've also never understood why people need to proclaim what machine their email was sent on, but whatever. It's cool.

:)

But, just very quickly, before I get to my point, can I say one more thing? I do not think your email was sent from your iPad.

And even if it was, amigo, I think the whole "sent from my iPad" thing is part of the ruse to make people who get your email feel like your best pal when most of them, like me, have probably never met you.

And that, my friend, is my point.

When did every politician start acting like my BFF? Like the BFF of every potential donor, possible voter and reporter on their mass email list?

Yes, that is a rhetorical question. I already know when this political strategy of faux friendship began, or at least when it began to run amok.

2008.



That's when the Big O started texting me. It was so personal, the way he wooed me in the privacy of my own phone. Me and a few million other people, until, frankly, I got very annoyed. Some guys don't know when to back off.

He got elected president, though, and now it seems that every campaign is managed by graduates of the same political PR school, all of them trained to get rid of old-fashioned press releases, and old-fogey donor letters that begin, "Dear Mr." or "Dear Ms.," and instead cozy up to folks as if we're all Facebook besties.

The rules taught in this political PR school seem to be:

--When using social media or email to make appeals to voters and the media, write as if the recipient is a pal.

--Use a subject line like "quick note" or "Hi" to sucker the recipient into thinking, "A message from a friend!"

--Sign only your first name or initials.

--Use exclamation marks! And the word "folks!"

Like I said, BR, you're not the only politician who's faking friendship with we the folks.

Barack still sends out mass emails and calls people by their first names. Joe -- you know which Joe -- signs his name "Joe." Just Joe. Michelle writes in the same breezy way.

And, like you, my friend, they're always asking for something, which is yet another way I know they're not my real friends. Real friends aren't always looking for a handout.

Wow, buddy, there's so much more to say on this :( but I promised to be quick, so ciao for now.

Comment by clicking here.

Mary Schmich is a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the Chicago Tribune.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

02/06/14: Meeting your doppelganger through misfired emails

01/09/14: Another year, another time to marvel at existence

01/01/14: 2013 with rhyme but not much reason

11/28/13: There's no way to screen out the screens

11/21/13: The pursuit of privacy: I'm rebelling against the snoops

11/14/13: Travel to the places that only an older person can take you

10/24/13: Impartial adviser always ready with reality check

10/17/13: Macy's decision another case of Thanksgiving sacrilege

10/10/13: Plenty of junk mail is anything but

10/03/13: Age forcing the question: To kill or not to kill?

09/26/13: Wish, but not wanting, over Blackberry's decline

09/12/13: Incurable ignorance dooms us

09/05/13: Linda Ronstadt's loss of singing voice strikes a deep chord

08/29/13: Picking a major while clueless about where we want to go in life

08/22/13: Years later, one last letter from my mother

08/15/13: In praise of the park bench

08/08/13: Juiced-up skills hard to swallow

08/01/13: The view from above: Life in the intimate society of an airplane has improved

07/18/13: Chasing family through history: What the all knowing Internet couldn't tell me about my ancestory

07/11/13: Change is constant. So is thinking we won't change

© 2013, CHICAGO TRIBUNE DISTRIBUTED BY Tribune Media Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast