Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 11, 2014 / 11 Nissan, 5774

A shot in the arm for sane folks everywhere

By Celia Rivenbark

Celia Rivenbark




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Well, look who's back! It's our old pal, measles. Yes, that hugely uncomfortable, highly contagious and more-than-occasionally life-threatening disease that we stomped out with a single vaccination back in the "Bonanza" years is showing up in New York City in ever-increasing numbers.

Naturally I blame Jenny McCarthy.

It was McCarthy who, years ago, claimed that the measles vaccine gave her son autism and, even after this was soundly debunked by, you know, science, she continues to beat the "anti-vax" drum today.

If there's one thing that Suzanne Somers taught us all those years ago, if we can't get our most essential healthcare advice from B-list celebrities, really, whom can we trust?

Last week, reality TV "star" Kristin Cavallari announced that she won't vaccinate her children because vaccines are harmful. The backlash from Sane People Everywhere led the former star of "The Hills" to assure us that we can vaccinate our own kids if we like.

Whew! That's a relief. I wouldn't want to go against a former reality TV show star AND the woman who used to live with Jim Carrey on matters of public policy.

Now keep in mind that these celebs aren't vaccinating their children for any diseases. Not measles, mumps, diphtheria, tetanus, whooping cough, none of it. In my mind, they are as nutter-butter brained as that wacky preacher who handled poisonous snakes and died from a snake bite a few weeks back.



Except he only killed himself. Even that lunatic probably gobbled up the little sugar cube with the polio vaccine in it back in the day because he knew it was good for him.

Here's the really scary thing: There's a trend afoot in which rich people don't vaccinate their kids. Studies show that vaccine compliance in ultra-elite private schools is as low as 20 percent.

That would be fine if these unvaccinated children didn't ever inflict themselves on the rest of us but, chances are, they do. That kid dipping into the gummy worms at the yogurt bar next to yours after school could be incubating a raging case of chickenpox, at the very least.

Nobody's exactly certain why rich people aren't vaccinating their kids as often as parents in lower income brackets. One theory is that they don't like the egalitarian nature of vaccines. The vaccine their child gets would be the exact same as the one given to the poorest of the poor so, well, ick.

I don't buy that theory because that would make rich people evil and, since I hope to be one someday, that's just too unpalatable.

Fortunately, Bill Gates, who is rich as they come, is working overtime to convince parents to take advantage of the vaccines that have kept children safe and disease-free for generations now.

Who can you trust? Gates, who has traveled the globe witnessing the devastating effects of preventable diseases on unvaccinated children, or Cavallari, who tweets about hair extensions and recently "rocked out" her new leather pregnancy leggings? Yeah, I thought so.


Archives .

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2014, The Sun News Distributed by Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles