Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 1, 2014 / 1 Nissan, 5774

Obama Confesses

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Pope Francis, I have never been to Catholic confession before, but I have a few things I have to get off my chest."

"Go on, Barack."

"Between you and me, pontiff, I can't believe I am president. There I was, trying my hand at presidential debates, and all of a sudden I am sitting in the Oval Office. Now I need all the help I can get."

"Help, Barack?"

"This job is getting to me, pontiff. The majority of Americans dislike ObamaCare, my signature achievement. Republicans are blocking everything I want to do. And every time I blink, some Third World dictator is challenging me to a duel. It's no wonder my disapproval rating just hit a record high."

"You have the hardest job in the world, Barack. Your woes are to be expected. But how can I help you?"

"Pontiff, you have to put in a good word for me with the Big Guy. I wonder if you can arrange a divine intervention?"

"You know I can't do that, Barack. The purpose of confession is for you to examine your conscience."

"What is this thing you call conscience, pontiff?"

"Oy vey! Barack, a conscience is what helps you decide how to act and what to say."

"I thought that's what the polls were for."

"Look, Barack, we all understand that at times a president has to stretch the truth when negotiating with enemies or even his political opposition. It is part of the art of politics. But you have to admit that some of your words went over the line."

"But all I said was that if they liked their insurance policies and doctors, they could keep them. It's not my fault the fools believed me."

"Barack, this is one thing that worries me about you. You are a man with tremendous gifts. We all wish for you to use those gifts to bring people together."

"Pontiff?"

"As a believer, you know that all things on this Earth are temporary. The greater glory is yet to come, but only if we pass the test."

"What test is that, pontiff?"

"There is good in the world and there is evil, Barack. These two forces are battling for the rights to your soul."

"They are? I thought it was just the teachers unions and the trial lawyers."

"With every decision any of us make, we are either moving toward good or away from it. It is what our Lord meant when he said, 'You are either with me or against me.'"

"Funny, that's what Pelosi and Reid keep telling me."

"Barack, just as an individual can lose his way, I believe your country is losing its way. Your debt and deficit are out of control. Your entitlement programs and tax system need to be reformed. But you are making no progress on these matters because your people are divided, cynical and often uninformed. When this happens, the enemy makes great progress."

"I'm with you, pontiff. Those Republicans can be nasty!"

"Barack, too many Americans care more about their own comfort, wealth and material well-being than they do about virtue, sacrifice and truth. They are losing the ability to think critically and solve problems logically. They are making poor decisions. As a republic's people soften, so goes the republic."

"Let me get this right, pontiff. You think America is growing soft and you want me to use my talents to help the American people understand our challenges and then lead a collaborative effort with my political opposition to address them?"

"You have the skills to do this, Barack, and your people are hungry for such leadership."

"Fair enough, pontiff. But how do you suggest I get started?"

"Have you ever considered a retreat, Barack?"

"Pontiff, if you can get the land, I know some timber interests who can get us the lumber."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR Contributor Tom Purcell, author of 'Misadventures of a 1970's Childhood,' is a nationally syndicated columnist. Comment by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2013, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast