Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Gwyneth needs to recouple with reality

By Gina Barreca




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) How do you spell conscious uncoupling? Where I came from, we always spelled it the way Tammy Wynette sang it, which is D-I-V-O-R-C-E.

I had one of them myself, several decades ago. That's when I discovered that even uncontested divorces still prove bad marriages are like hell: It's a lot easier to get in than it is to get out.

So when approximately 176 friends posted on their Facebook pages and Twitter accounts that movie star Gwyneth Paltrow and rock star husband Chris Martin announced their "conscious uncoupling" via her website "Goop," I felt a moment of genuine sympathy.

Then I laughed so hard my sternum started to hurt.

Seriously? "Conscious uncoupling"? Posted on a website called "Goop"? From a woman who named her kid Apple? And who shills, at $425 a go (so to speak), a colon-cleanse regime also called "Goop"?

Forget about the movies: This is a woman who needs a scriptwriter to prepare her lines in life.

Paltrow needs to do what elementary school teachers call "exhibiting mastery" over her native language. She seems to be doing less well with using her own words than she did with singing in her own voice.

(And don't you think the real reason they broke up is because she made that "Country Strong" movie? I do. She couldn't just let her spouse have his music career without making a film where she played a character inspired by — I'm not making this up — music, um, personality Britney Spears? My money is that "Country Strong," where Paltrow hams it up as a substance-friendly singer named Kelly Canter, although decidedly not the kind of cantor found in a synagogue, was the beginning of the end of that marriage.)

In addition to needing a writer, she also needs an editor — and maybe a therapist — because some of her sayings seem to have become infamous enough to generate their own line of snarky T-shirts. "I would rather die than let my kid eat Cup-a-Soup," she announced on an episode of "Conan." Here's another Paltrow gem: "We're human beings and the sun is the sun — how can it be bad for you? I don't think anything that's natural can be bad for you." Guess Gwyneth never heard of melanoma, which is nature's own sunshiny gift.

Actually, death is also natural (and organic!), but I hear that's very bad for you, too.

But those declarations are violently sane compared to what Paltrow recently said during her interview with "E! News."

Without irony, mind you, the woman whose net worth is around $140 million was all wistful about the simple lives of women with children who don't have to deal with the hassle of being movie stars but instead work regular jobs: "I think it's different when you have an office job, because it's routine and, you know, you can do all the stuff in the morning and then you come home in the evening I think to have a regular job and be a mom is not as — of course there are challenges, but it's not like being on set."

And most working-stiff moms with regular jobs would, I'm sure, agree: There are challenges, and it's not like being on a set. Unless, of course, we're talking about the set of "Lockup: Extreme Dinnertime Tantrums."

Making up words — "Goop" — and mangling phrases — "conscious uncoupling" — that render a significant event meaningless by bankrupting its significance doesn't help anybody accept, understand or cope with life's vicissitudes.

Calling something by another name doesn't change what it is. Consider those buses you see at every airport with "Elegant Limousine Transport" italicized in flaking gold paint on their side. They are not really limousines, are they? They're buses. There's nothing whatsoever wrong with them because they no doubt provide adequate transportation.

To refer to them by another name is, however, pretentious, misleading and disingenuous.

Sure, their owners can do whatever they want and who really cares? Yet, if we contort and misalign words to fit eccentric meanings, we obscure rather than explain what we're trying to communicate.

Life isn't easy for anybody, and divorce is always hard. But it's still probably easier if you're brave enough to spell it out.

Gina Barreca is a columnist for The Hartford Courant.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


Let's all take the new SATs! --- or not!
Laugh often and 19 more rules to live by
Confessions of a promiscuous shopper
Can women ever be good enough?
Why are women left holding the bag?
Check Your Bumper Sticker At The Door
How a customer became a sucker and then got mad
Using reality TV to reveal your personality
Unlearning the kindergarten lessons of life
Things everyone must stop doing right now
Six truths about summer --- it's no picnic
Anthony Weiner --- we've seen enough of you
When women shop, expectations usually out of stock






© 2013, The Hartford Courant Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles