Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 10, 2014 / 10 Nissan, 5774

Picky, picky, picky? No, serious, serious, serious

By Jay Ambrose




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Pat Paulsen was a hoot. The comedian, who appeared on "The Smothers Brothers" TV show starting back in the late 1960s, was also a perennial presidential candidate, getting loud laughs by being just a tad more evasive, ludicrous and shallow than the real thing. Pat also had a pat answer to any imagined criticism, even if it was on the order of his having burned down Washington.

"Picky, picky, picky," he would say.

Did he maybe start something? I look around today, see bone-crunching putdowns of progressive nonsense and then note progressive responses on the order of a shoulder shrug, a grin, the shaking of a head, the equivalent of "picky, picky, picky." That's the case, for instance, as some look at how the initial rollout of the Affordable Care Act seems to have signed up 7.1 million people despite earlier problems with malfunctioning computer systems and a seeming lack of consumer interest. Some well-known commentators say all is now proven OK. Obamacare works.

Excuse me, but this is just one of the early steps along with a stumble in a march of a thousand tortuous miles. We don't even know those signing up are the young, healthy, previously uninsured people who were targeted, but there is much we do know. We do know, for instance, that President Obama has delayed the employer mandate that might strip jobs from the workplace so that it will come after instead of before the 2014 midterm elections. That may mean near-term political disaster is somewhat less likely, but certainly not that human disaster is ruled out.

We know that Obamacare, while doing some truly good things that could have been done more simply, could portend a doctor shortage. We know that new regulations are causing mass confusion in hospitals. We know that a new tax in the act has already cost 33,000 jobs in the medical device industry. We know a couple of million people may leave the workforce because of the law, thereby reducing wealth production in the nation. We know people had to give up plans they liked for those they did not like. We know many are being hit with higher premiums and that literally tens of millions will remain uninsured under the program.

I see the progressive yawns out there, and I guess I will induce more as I move on to the president's latest populist palaver meant to affect those aforementioned 2014 elections. The president is still talking about the desperate need for a new minimum wage that would likely get at least a half million people laid off. He doesn't mention the picky, picky, picky half million. He talks as if such a law would do more good than harm, when it won't, and now is talking as if women are being unfairly treated because men on average make more money than they do.

It is true that men are better compensated on average, but it is also true that this has been well-researched and the main reasons are that many employed women choose to work fewer hours than men or take jobs that pay less but are more convenient or rewarding to them than those that pay more. We've got laws requiring equal pay for equal work and women can now sue if the facts support their case, and a couple of new executive orders from the president about fairness from federal contractors are meaningless.

They are just new ways to further divide us, stir up anger and distrust of the marketplace and paint perfectly fine people as malicious and unfair and thereby win elections. After all, that's what the utterly phony "Republican war on women" did, making it sound as if birth control was out of reach of large numbers of women if Obamacare did not act through mandates and premium-increasing insurance rules. None of it was even close to true.


ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Jay Ambrose, formerly Washington director of editorial policy for Scripps Howard newspapers and the editor of dailies in El Paso, Texas, and Denver, is a columnist living in Colorado.



© 2013, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast