Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2013/ 7 Iyar, 5773

Refuse to Be Terrorized

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "The purpose of terror is to terrorize," V.I. Lenin is often quoted as saying.

The purpose of terror is to sow panic, interrupt daily life, change and constrain behavior.

But, most importantly, terror is designed to shatter people's faith in the ability of their government to protect them.

And if a government cannot protect its citizens, if it loses the faith of its citizens, it cannot long endure.

In the lexicon of terror, you and I are "soft" targets. We are easily reached, easily killed, easily maimed because we seek normal lives. We do not live in bunkers or move about in armored vehicles.

We do not avoid public streets. We do not shun others. We mix with them, work with them, shop with them, walk the public streets with them.

Our first instinct is not to fear or hate. Our first instinct is to trust that virtually everyone we interact with on a daily basis means us no harm.

We are Americans. We enjoy the blessings of a free society. We believe our government will, in the rare instances it is called upon to do so, either prevent acts of terror or track down, capture, kill or neutralize those who commit terror against us.

There are those, however, who believe that our government itself is carrying out acts of terror.

The "truthers" believe the U.S. government planted bombs in the World Trade Center on Sept. 11, 2001, to bring the buildings down so we could wage war in the Mideast. (The jets that crashed into the towers, the truthers believe, were merely window dressing.)

Others believe the government also blew up the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City on April 19, 1995, as part of a conspiracy that involved black helicopters, secret evacuations of top conspirators from the buildings and instructions printed on stop signs with invisible ink.

These people are small in number. But I get the feeling their numbers may not necessarily be dwindling.

A short while after the explosions in Boston on Monday, Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick held a news conference in the quite proper belief that flooding the situation with truth is the best antidote to panic-inducing lies.

Here is one of the first questions he got:

Question: "Why were the loudspeakers telling people in the audience to be calm moments before the bomb went off? Is this another false flag staged attack [i.e., like 9/11) to take our civil liberties ... ?"

Gov. Patrick: "No. Next question."

The blood was not yet fully dry on the streets, yet the loonies were already at work, spreading the belief that our government exists not to protect us, but to enslave and even kill us.

It is easy to look at the Boston Marathon bombing and believe we are entering a new era of fear. But it is not the first attack we have endured. Two I have already mentioned.

But don't forget the fear of anthrax sent by mail once gripped this country, and we got through that. We also got through the Unabomber and Columbine and Virginia Tech and Aurora. Newtown and the slaughter of 20 small children we are still struggling with.

Guns and bombs are related. Both are weapons of swift destruction.

Congress is meeting this week to vote on gun control legislation. Even watered-down, even gutted of key provisions, it is in deep trouble.

And I fear the Boston bombings will set back gun control for three reasons:

First, some will say there are laws against bombing, but that didn't prevent the marathon bombing and, therefore, laws against violence are useless.

Second, some will say we need to arm ourselves against future bombers. (Though this would not have protected anybody in Boston, where there was already a heavy, armed police presence.)

Third, a few will say government is the enemy and we must arm ourselves against the government.

Think that last one is believed only by whackos?

Here is a Ronald Reagan column from the September 1975 issue of Guns & Ammo:

"The gun has been called the great equalizer, meaning that a small person with a gun is equal to a large person, but it is a great equalizer in another way, too. It insures that the people are the equal of their government whenever that government forgets that it is servant and not master of the governed."

On Tuesday, President Obama said: "The American people refuse to be terrorized."

I pray he is correct. This is a time for courage and resolve. This is a time for strength.

This is a time for us to turn toward and not against each other. This is a time for us to turn toward and not against our government.

Stand up. Stand strong. Stand together.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate