Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2013/ 7 Iyar, 5773

Horror without terror, just anger

By Clarence Page

Clarence Page


JewishWorldReview.com | President Barack Obama has made it official. The Boston Marathon bombing was an "act of terror," he declared.

But here's my little message to whoever is responsible: Make no mistake, I don't feel terrorized; I feel mad.

And, furthermore, you will be found.

I don't yet know who you are or what voices in your head told you to do what you did.

You may be one or you may be a dozen. You may be foreign or domestic.

You didn't even grant us the simple courtesy of blowing yourself or yourselves up like the 9/11 hijackers did.

You acted more like Timothy McVeigh, who lit a fuse to a truckload of explosive fertilizer in front of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City in 1995 and walked away. He was eventually caught.

You acted more like Eric Rudolph, who blew up a backpack at the 1996 Atlanta Summer Olympics. He disappeared for a few years but he eventually was caught, too.

And maybe you'll end up like Osama bin Laden. It took years to catch him, but he was caught -- and killed.

Who knows? Maybe you were given some sort of false confidence by the ways we Americans don't always get along. Our differences make headlines every day. We live in a very diverse country and we have a lot to argue about.

But, nothing concentrates our minds like the certain knowledge that somebody, somewhere is trying to kill us -- just for being Americans.

What else are we to make of this psychopathic assault on one of America's proudest and most festive events?

We don't know who placed the two bombs that within seconds of each other ripped through crowds of spectators near the finish line of the marathon.

But we can tell that the bombs were meant to kill or injure as many as possible and terrorize the rest of us.

Officials counted three dead by the next morning and more than 150 injured, a statistic that hardly captures the breathtaking horror in witness accounts.

"War Zone at Mile 26," read a New York Times headline: " 'So Many People Without Legs'."

"These runners just finished and they don't have legs now," said Roupen Bastajian, 35, a Rhode Island state trooper and Marine veteran, according to the Times.

One moment he was one of thousands of exhausted runners. The next, he was helping to tie tourniquets on bleeding legs -- and what was left of legs.

"So many of them," he said. "There are so many people without legs. It's all blood. There's blood everywhere. You got bones, fragments. It's disgusting."

Yet the big story soon turned from terrorism to heroism. No one knew how many more bombs might explode at any moment. Yet without hesitation, police officers, marathon workers, firefighters and emergency medical workers jumped in to rip out temporary barricades by hand and treat the wounded.

Twitter and bloggers buzzed with praise for the selfless first responders, who did not look in any way terrorized. They were too busily focused on helping bomb victims. Out of the horror, Americans were making their own good news with stories of courage and sacrifice.

TV viewers wanted to help, too. Phone calls flooded in from across the country with offers of assistance. The American Red Cross was flooded with so many blood donations that they politely asked would-be donors to make an appointment to come back in the coming weeks and months.

"The Boston Marathon has lost its innocence," one surviving runner told an NPR interviewer. She was referring to how the marathon, an event that beautifully brings people together from all over the world has been assaulted by terrorism.

In that sense, the nation lost its innocence years ago. Yet we seem to have replaced it with a new readiness and a new realism. The reactions to this tragedy seemed to be less panicked, more professional.

Even the Twitter frenzy seemed to include more cautionary notes against spreading the usual unsubstantiated rumors. That's a blessing. When we panic we only terrorize ourselves.

The Boston Marathon will continue, I am confident and, again, here's a note for whoever set off those bombs: You will be found.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Clarence Page can be reached by clicking here.

Clarence Page Archives

© 2013, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast