Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 18, 2013/ 8 Iyar, 5773

The price of distraction

By Dick Morris




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Immediately after 9/11, America was united, vigilant and determined not to permit a repeat of the slaughter of the innocents. But since then, we have let down our guard.

Partisans on the right might say that we did so because the attorney general and the president tied the hands of those who are charged with defending our homeland. Partisans on the left might say that budget cuts impaired our ability to staff our homeland security efforts adequately. Both would be partially correct.

But the fact is, we have let down our guard, and the attack on these magnificent athletes — and their children — is the result.

Our homeland security effort has been running on fumes under President Obama. Ever since George W. Bush left office, we have stopped developing the same kinds of leads and are no longer pursuing them with the same alacrity and Úlan as we did before. Now the investigators are more fearful than are those they investigate: the chances of getting indicted for over-zealousness or making a career-ending mistake looms before every one of them every day, inhibiting their efforts.

We now kill terrorists from a unmanned drone flying overhead at two or three times the rate we reached under the Bush administration. But a dead man tells no tales. Our source of interrogation-driven leads is drying up. Even when we catch a terrorist, we have no place to put him. Recently, we were fortunate enough to capture Ahmed Abdulkadir Warsame, a Somali terrorist leader. We could not question him at Gitmo; the rendition centers on foreign soil are all closed now. And we dared not repatriate him, lest he lawyer up and we lose all his information.

So we put him on a Navy ship for two months as it sailed around the Indian Ocean. How many others have we let go without interrogating them adequately?

And when we do interrogate suspects, we do so under the rules of the U.S. Army Field Manuals, which restricts us to the most gentle of interrogation techniques. No hitting, touching, threatening or even loud shouting. Presumably we will get the information we need by some kind persuasion! We have no idea as this is being written whether the terror attack in Boston — which, indeed it was — was perpetrated by an international organization or a lone wolf. Either way, we were caught napping.

Until now, with the exception of the Fort Hood massacre and the Little Rock shooting of a U.S. soldier, blood has not been spilled on our soil since 9/11.

But it has been as much due to our efforts as to our enemies' failures, largely mechanical bomb-making failures. Since Bush left office and Obama brought in new rules and priorities, the record of attacks that would have succeeded had the bomb been made properly and which were thwarted by no effort of our own is daunting.

On Dec. 22, 2001, a bomber failed to detonate a bomb hidden in his shoe on a plane from Paris to Miami, and alert passengers subdued him. Hundreds were saved through nothing but dumb luck. Then on Christmas Day in 2009, a Nigerian man tried to ignite a bomb hidden in his underwear on a flight bound for Detroit. It failed to detonate. Luck again. On May 1, 2010, a car bomb in Times Square failed to detonate and was disarmed after its smoke was spotted. Dumb luck again. And on May 10, 2010, a pipe bomb in Jacksonville, Fla., exploded while about 60 people were praying in a mosque — again, through luck, there were no injuries.

On April 15, 2013, our luck ran out. This is no way to run our national security.

Dick Morris Archives


BUY THE BOOK

Buy it for 40% off the cover price by clicking here or in KINDLE at a 48% discount by clicking here.

(Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



© 2013, Dick Morris

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast