Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Apr. 11, 2013/ 1 Iyar, 5773

Sneaking into movies not as easy as in old days

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) When they round up the usual suspects, you expect to hear the names Al Capone, John Dillinger and Ma Barker.

You might not expect to hear the name Gail Doughty.

But the older sister of my best friend was responsible for a crime wave of epic proportions when I was growing up in New Jersey. She repeatedly allowed underage delinquents to hide in the trunk of her car so they could sneak into the drive-in to see movies deemed unsuitable for minors.

If you don't know what a drive-in movie is, ask your parents.

Gail was a hero to those of us condemned to a summer without possibility of a driver's license, but to look at her back then, you would never have guessed that she was involved in such nefarious activities. She was an excellent student, went to church regularly and was respectful of her parents.

She was in no way one of those out-of-control teenagers depicted in movies like "Rebel Without a Cause" and "Ferris Bueller's Day Off." As far as I know, she never rode a motorcycle or carried a switchblade. She never rebelled against society in any way, with the possible exception of movie ratings that discriminated against the young. She apparently believed it was wrong to deprive youngsters of their right to watch low-budget, poorly made movies about zombies, vampires and biker gangs.

I'm pretty sure the statute of limitations has run out on Gail's crimes against humanity, so allow me to describe how she carried out her misdeeds.

Gail (I'm not using her married name to protect her family from public scorn) drove an American sedan roughly the size of Rhode Island. The trunk could fit six teenagers comfortably. I believe that feature was included in some of the advertising.

Just outside the entrance, Gail would pull over and pop the trunk. We would climb out of the car and pile into the trunk. She then drove up to the box office and bought a single ticket.

Gail, who is now a grandmother, always said she felt silly asking for one ticket. These outdoor theaters appealed more to couples and large groups of friends.

She would park the car in a deserted area and unlock the trunk. We would jump out like we had been freed from 20 years of solitary confinement, running around like crazy people.

Before you suggest that we were cheating the theater owner, let me emphasize that Gail wouldn't have been there if we hadn't persuaded her to smuggle us in, so the theater owner made at least one unplanned ticket sale. More important, the six of us ate like pigs and we spent most of the night at the concession stand buying popcorn, pizza and sugary drinks. The theater owner made serious concession money, and we had a glorious night at the drive-in even though we were not old enough to drive legally.

I have no proof, of course, but I believe that most theater owners knew exactly what was happening. How else to explain a young woman entering a drive-in alone? It's a game traditionally played willingly by theater owners and young moviegoers alike. The owners pretend they don't know that underage customers are sneaking into R-rated movies, and underage customers keep an eye out for ushers.

Until recently, theater owners only paid lip service to the campaign to keep youngsters out of adult-themed movies. Nobody seemed to work very hard at preventing it from happening. Parents blindly left the responsibility of policing the theaters to the owners, and the owners blindly pointed to the parents as the responsible party. Meanwhile, underage moviegoers saw what they wanted to see.

However, it seems the game has become somewhat harder to play.

According to a 2012 undercover investigation by the Federal Trade Commission, the nation's movie theaters are doing a better job at enforcing the restrictions.

"Ratings enforcement at the movie box office is at its highest level since the FTC began its mystery shopper program in 2000," the report stated. "Less than one-quarter of underage shoppers were able to buy a ticket to an R-rated movie, down from one-third in 2010."

The FTC said enforcement was especially high at four of the seven major theater chains. AMC Entertainment did the best job by turning away 95 percent of the teens trying to buy tickets to R-rated movies, followed closely by Regal.

Apparently, the FTC hired an unspecified number of undercover agents, ages 13-16, to try to buy tickets to R-rated movies at 250 movie theaters around the country. The teens, who were not accompanied by adults, also were pushed to buy DVDs, CDs and video games aimed at an adult audience.

The report focused on movie theaters in general, but made no specific mention of drive-in theaters.

It also made no mention of my friend Gail, the usual suspect.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Ben Affleck's life is still worth living
The black market for movie raves
The 10 worst movies of 2012
2012's most annoying celebrities
Lindsay Lohan needs to be ignored
Red Dawn' remake reflects China's box-office pull
Fall movie season ends with lessons learned
The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast