Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 22, 2013/ 12 Iyar, 5773

Life in the age of terror and danger

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Danger. Terror. I remember an interview in a bad Detroit neighborhood. When I approached a couch in the small front room, the mother said to me, "Don't sit there. They can shoot you through the window."

Danger. Terror. In Leipzig, East Germany, I had a young female translator. When we approached my hotel, she froze.

"I cannot go in," she said.

"Why not?" I said.

"That's for foreigners. If I go in there, they will arrest me."

"Don't be silly. We need to work."

"Please." She began to cry, then shriek. "I cannot go in! They will hurt me!"

Danger. Terror. There's a group in Israel called ZAKA, dedicated to picking up pieces of the dead. Whenever there is a bombing or a terror attack, ZAKA arrives with incredible speed to collect anything -- an ear, an arm, skin -- believing the body needs to be buried intact, that a human being is entitled to at least that dignity.

Danger. Terror. I've seen children in Haiti too afraid to sleep inside once they knew an earthquake could strike again. Been told in Mexico to hide any jewelry and get quickly into a friend's car, lest you become a kidnap target. Been in train stations around the world that post warning signs for stray backpacks or packages that might contain explosives.

And once, more than 30 years ago, I ran the Boston Marathon. At the end of the race, I crossed the finish line in Copley Square, nearly four hours after the thing started -- or around the time that bombs went off in that spot last Monday -- and I never thought that something might explode and kill me.

But now, if I did it again, I would.

Danger. Terror. It is a fact of life in today's world. Anyplace. Anywhere. You can be shot, blown up, kidnapped, arrested. The world is an increasingly scary place.

The question is: What to do in the face of it?

I read a quote from a female spectator in Boston, who suffered minor injuries and who told CNN, "I personally will never participate in an event of this nature in a city in fear that something like this could happen again. ... Seeing terrible things ... all over the world on TV, my heart would always go out to those directly affected. But I never imagined in a million years I would be a spectator at the Boston Marathon running for my life."

This is a very telling statement. She admits she has seen terror happen all over the world, yet says she could never have imagined running for her life. Why? If it happens all over the world, why couldn't it happen to her?

She also says she will never participate in an event like the marathon for fear it could happen again. Yet things like this had been happening for decades, and it didn't stop her from coming to Boston that day.

And it shouldn't stop her in the future.

As the details of the bombing suspects spilled out into the weekend, one thing remained abundantly clear: There is simply no way to guard against everybody. You cannot predict every deviant behavior, protect every space in every gathering, survey all faces in a crowd or gauge the contents of every bag, pocket, shoe or human body.

We can attack the training bases of terror, but that won't prevent another Aurora, Colo., or Oklahoma City.

We can X-ray every inch of people on a plane, but that won't ensure someone won't blow up a train station. The numbers are impossible. Everyone is a potential terrorist; not everyone is a police officer.

And none of this is new. ZAKA formed nearly 25 years ago, after a terrorist grabbed the wheel of a bus and steered it into a ravine, killing 16 innocent people. Grabbed the wheel of a bus? Who would have predicted that? Would you never ride a bus again?

I think about my Boston Marathon finish, being so happy at Copley Square. And it's tragic that maybe no one ever will feel so carefree there again. But while this latest trepidation is real and awful, it is no different than the Detroit woman who lived in fear of her window every day. We can be killed anytime, anywhere, doing anything. Bombs and bullets and remote controls have assured it.

We live in an age of miracle and wonder; we live in an age of danger and terror. The only sure thing is that some days it will feel more like one than the other.



Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2013, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast