Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 20, 2012/ 28 Nissan, 5772

Man Bites Dog

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My knowledge of Dutch is limited to the bedrock stuff that a tourist needs, like, "What time does the Heineken tour start?" and, "I think I need a carpenter to remove my wooden shoes." ("Hoe laat is de Heinekein tour te starten?" and "Ik denk dat ik moet een timmerman om mijn klompen te verwijderen.")

So when Erik Mouthaan, the U.S. bureau chief and senior correspondent for RTL Dutch TV, came to my office the other day to interview me (in English, thank goodness) and did his intro in Dutch for his viewers in the Netherlands, I caught only one word: "absurditeit."

Which is Dutch for "absurdity."

It was a good starting point, Mouthaan decided, to begin explaining part of America's 2012 presidential election campaign to non-Americans.

I found it hard to disagree.

After all, while non-Americans can certainly understand American interest with the economy, the war in Afghanistan, jobs and the environment, they might have a bit more of a struggle placing Seamus the dog in perspective.

Seamus the dog is a story, to use an old newspaper term, that "has feet." And not just four of them.

David Letterman has not only done innumerable jokes about Seamus, but very seriously said on the air on Feb. 16: "As a president, you want a guy who makes good decisions. Putting your dog on the roof of your car ... is not a good idea. That's it. End of story. I don't care about anything else."

In case you have been on extended submarine duty beneath the polar ice cap and have missed the story, in 1983 Mitt Romney put the family Irish setter, Seamus, atop the family car in a dog carrier for a 12-hour trip to Canada. Seamus did his "business" down the side of the car, streaking the windows, at which point Romney calmly pulled into a gas station, hosed Seamus down and then resumed the trip.

New York Times columnist Gail Collins has written about Seamus numerous times, and Romney critics believe the episode demonstrates Romney's robotic lack of human emotion.

Fox News' Chris Wallace said to Romney: "I have a yellow Lab named Winston. I would no sooner put him in a kennel on the roof of my car than I would one of my children. Question: 'What were you thinking?'"

Romney claimed that Seamus "climbed up there regularly, enjoyed himself. ... It was where he was comfortable."

Which led one unidentified top Democrat to tell Jake Tapper of ABC News, "When Seamus crapped all over the car, I'm fairly certain he wasn't expressing pleasure."

According to the Humane Society of the United States, 39 percent of U.S. households own a dog and 28 percent own two dogs. Some 62 percent of all households in America have a pet of some kind and are expected to spend nearly $53 billion on them this year.

The treatment of Seamus remains so worrisome to the Romney campaign that Ann Romney was compelled to say just the other day that Seamus "loved" being up in that carrier during that trip.

But when Fred Malek, a big-time Republican powerbroker, who once tracked down Jews for Richard Nixon, recently held a fundraising birthday party for Ann Romney, websites revived a 2006 story from The Washington Post that revealed that Malek, at age 22, was one of five men arrested in Peoria, Ill., for beating a dog to death and barbecuing it.

Malek said he was drunk, took no active part in the killing or barbecuing and was in no shape to stop the events from happening. Charges against him were later dropped when one of the accused men said he acted alone.

Brad Bannon, spokesman for the Super PAC "Mitt is Mean," said, "I am surprised Gov. Romney is going to go to this fundraiser and get money from a guy who barbecued a dog, especially with Mitt Romney's history with dogs."

And that's where things stood until Tuesday night, when the Daily Caller website reprinted the following excerpt from Barack Obama's book, "Dreams From My Father":

"With Lolo (Obama's Indonesian stepfather), I learned how to eat small green chili peppers raw with dinner (plenty of rice), and, away from the dinner table, I was introduced to dog meat (tough), snake meat (tougher) and roasted grasshopper (crunchy)."

"Say what you want about Romney," Jim Treacher of the Daily Caller wrote, "but at least he only put a dog on the roof of his car, not the roof of his mouth."

On Jan. 30, David Axelrod, the Obama campaign's top political strategist, had tweeted a picture of President Obama lovingly transporting the family dog, Bo, in back of the presidential limousine, with the comment, "How loving owners transport their dogs."

Last night, in view of Obama's book, Eric Fehrnstrom, a senior adviser to Mitt Romney, struck back with the tweet: "In hindsight, a chilling photo." Translation: Obama is just fattening up Bo for a midnight snack.

Twitter lit up with funny, semi-funny and not-so-funny rejoinders, the best of which probably was: "Q. So, Mr. President, where shall we go to eat? A. I know a great Spot."

So what would you tell a foreign visitor? That all this is part of the glorious absurdity, boisterousness and vitality of the American democratic process?

Or would you just say, "The Budweiser tour starts in five minutes."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate