Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2012/ 25 Nissan, 5772

America's Most Desirable Jobs

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'd be happy to have any job on the list, if you want to know the truth.

Ah, yes, you speak of the CareerCast.com "2012 Jobs Rated Report," which classifies the most and least desirable jobs in the U.S.

That's right. The worst job of 200 on the list, No. 200, is lumberjack. I'd be happy to swing an ax if they pay me.

But the report says lumberjacks work on the hottest and coldest days of the year -- that their occupation is dangerous and their pay is low.

A modest earned income is better than none.

I feel your pain. The March jobs report was disappointing yet again. Unemployment fell to 8.2 percent from 8.3 percent, but only because discouraged workers left the labor force. Some argue the real unemployment rate is in the mid- to high teens.

Yeah, that is why a "good" job these days is almost any job that pays.

It's interesting you say that. It wasn't long ago in America when a "good" job was any job that could support a family.

So true. My grandfather was a coal miner, who considered himself lucky. My dad poured molten steel in a mill. I was the first in my family to go to college. I dreamt of my dream job. I did OK, too, until the Great Recession.

So a "good" job still is any job that will support your family?

Absolutely. I'd take any of the worst jobs. Dairy farmer is No. 199 on the list. They may work hard, but at least there is a demand for their product. Enlisted military personnel, No. 198 on the list, may face danger, but the pay is steady and the grub is free -- have you seen the price of grub lately?

Fair enough, but No. 197 on the list is oil rig worker. That is a hard, dirty job, and don't those rigs blow up now and then?

Who cares? The pay is good and the overtime is better. I'd be happy to be a newspaper reporter (No. 196) or a waiter (No. 195) or a meter reader (No. 194). Reporters expose bad guys, waiters work with good-looking waitresses, and if I were a meter reader, I'd inflict fear in people and finally get some respect.

You really have given up on your dream job.

Maybe I have. I'm no different than anyone else. The best jobs in the report don't look like dream jobs to me.

According to the report, the worst jobs are characterized by working in bad weather, danger, low pay and poor hiring prospects, whereas the best jobs involve good pay, job security and working in climate-controlled buildings.

Software engineer is the No. 1 job for the second year in a row. Who wants to be trapped in an office cubicle all day, pecking on a keyboard and dealing with IT geeks?

Fair enough.

The No. 2 job is actuary? You get to do math all day for a boring insurance company? How about human resources manager (No. 3)? All HR people do nowadays is make sure companies comply with a million federal regulations so they don't get sued.

Perhaps.

Dental hygienist is the No. 4 job in America? Rooting around in the mouths of people with bad breath? How is that better than being a dairy farmer?

But what about the No. 5 job -- financial planner?

Like Bernie Madoff, who bilked thousands out of millions of dollars and lived the high life until he got caught? Now there's a dream job appropriate for the times in which we live.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2012, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles