Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 27, 2012 / 5 Iyar, 5772

The highly bearable lightness of non-computing

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | PUNTA CANA, Dominican Republic -- While many wander around the Barceló Bávaro Beach Resort in search of the perfect tan -- or a cool beverage -- your columnist is here attending a conference, and working as part of the sponsoring organization.

Instead of lounging by the pool, I'm experimenting, trying to do my work without a regular computer.

I tried this a bit last year traveling in the U.S., but to venture overseas -- even to as tech-friendly a place as the Dominican Republic, with Wi-Fi throughout the resort complex and rentable computers in the "guest services" area -- without my MacBook Pro was a bit anxiety-raising. Yet, here I am, with "just" an Apple iPad (the newest model), a ZAGG Folio keyboard/case (discussed here last week), and a lot of hope.

I'm fairly confident in the hardware, but computing is more than wires, chips and a display screen. There's the applications involved, and whether they can stand up to the demands of full-fledged "desktop" applications. And, would the battery hold out long enough for me to work a full day?

I'll answer the last question first. In a roughly eight-hour day of working remotely, the battery more than held up, even as I heavily used Wi-Fi, updated and even downloaded applications for the iPad, and plugged in an adapter to take photos off of a memory card. By the time I connected a recharging cable in the evening, I still had 41-percent battery life remaining.

Not that many years ago, reviewers such as your columnist were raving, rightly, about a five-hour battery life for a notebook computer. "You can work from Washington, D.C. to Los Angeles," we'd exclaim. Well, the newest iPad, at least, eclipses that and then some.

Now, about those photos. I started off with the preinstalled Photo.app common to iPad and iPhone devices. But I quickly switched to Apple's iPhoto app for the iPad, a $4.99 purchase that offers all sorts of editing, retouching, sizing and other tools, as well as a bunch of artistic effects unneeded with the news photos I take, but nice when assembling a vacation scrapbook.

While Apple will happily sell you more expensive (and more capable) photo-editing software for your desktop computer (if it's a Mac, that is), I have a feeling that for many people in many situations, the iPhoto app will be more than sufficient. I especially like its ability to post quickly to Facebook, Flickr and other online places, including iTunes, in order to synchronize a photo library with another iTunes-friendly device.

Last week's installment offered lavish praise of iA Writer, the 99-cent word processing app that's my new favorite for clean, simple writing. But I have to add that juggling multiple files (one for notes, one for the final report) in this app was very easy; a couple of finger taps and I was switching easily.

That's important, the finger-tapping thing: with the iPhoto app and with many other iPad applications, your fingers replace a computer mouse. I thought I'd miss the latter in both photo manipulation and word processing, but I truly don't. That's another plus on the road, I believe.

About the only thing I truly "missed" on the road was the one time Adobe Corp.'s Flash program wasn't available: when I wanted to read the electronic edition of The Washington Times while traveling. It's a no-go, sad to say, but the regular Website worked just fine.

And while I remain thrilled with the iPad's battery life, there's nothing wrong with having a backup. On this trip, I've given the myCharge(r) Portable Power Bank 6000, $99 from www.mychargepower.com, a workout. It performs as advertised: the 6000mAh battery pack can charge an average smartphone 4 times, and it'll bring an iPad back to nearly 100 percent power.

My favorite feature isn't so much the power this tiny pack provides as are the built-in Apple-standard, and both Micro USB and Mini USB connectors. Together, these hardwired connections will handle almost anything you might carry, but just in case, there's a full USB port as well.

Flying down here (and back) will involve nearly eight hours of air travel and layovers. I'm glad to have this extra power source if needed. I highly recommend it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2012, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles