Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 30, 2012/ 8 Iyar, 5772

In an era of wonder, he supplied the imagination

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's a scene in the play, "Ernie," in which the actor playing Ernie Harwell reenacts the way he broadcast minor-league baseball games in the 1940s, when there was no money to send him on the road.

"We stayed in the studio and waited for the play-by-play ticker to come through," he says, taking a strip of ticker tape and reading it. "Johnson, B-1-0. That meant Johnson took ball one, outside. Of course that's pretty dry, so we'd have to embellish it....."

He then demonstrates his embellishment: "There's a high loping curveball, way outside, Johnson looks at it, doesn't move his bat, and it's ball one!"

When asked what he did if the ticker-tape machine broke, Ernie replies sometimes he'd make up a distraction, like a dog running on the field. And he'd have that dog racing back and forth, eluding escape, until the machine was fixed.

Of course, when the ballplayers came home, their wives would ask, "What happened to that poor dog?" And they'd say, "What dog?"

The audience always laughs. It is a sweet moment. A reminder of a simpler time, when broadcasting was about imagination -- for both the listener and, at times, even the announcer.

I thought about that this past week while watching the NFL draft, the polar opposite of imagination. I don't know how many people ESPN and the NFL Network employ to cover the draft, but I am guessing it's in the millions. At least it felt that way. Every prospect had a camera on him, every top draftee was grabbed for a fast reaction. We saw mothers, girlfriends, agents, even the NFL commissioner hugging the players, team caps being tugged on, jerseys held up. There was file footage, instant analysis, numbers, charts, graphics. Your brain needed overdrive to process all the data.

Imagination was of no use.

Ernie Harwell was of a different time. Maybe that is why, as we approach the two-year anniversary of his death this week, he continues to hold such a strong place in our hearts. The image of him alone in a studio, reading ticker tape, bringing you an event from hundreds of miles away, an event with no pictures, no screens, just his voice telling you the story -- well, it feels almost prehistoric in today's information-heavy era.

Yet part of us still longs for it. Human beings relish stories. It's like that moment in "Alice in Wonderland" when the impatient Gryphon tells Alice, "No, no! The adventures first! Explanations take such a dreadful time."

Ernie didn't explain -- didn't analyze, do color commentary, break down the numbers or make predictions.

He brought us adventures.

The play about Ernie, which I was honored to write at his request, re-opens this week at the City Theatre in downtown Detroit, across the street from the Tigers' ballpark. Lulu Harwell, Ernie's wife, and Bill Harwell, one of Ernie's sons, are expected to be there on Thursday, Opening Night, as are several of Ernie's colleagues and friends -- all of whom saw the play last year, yet are coming back again.

It is rare that a stage play runs for long in our city, rarer still that it returns for a second season. It's extremely rare that people view it multiple times. I think the reason folks return for "Ernie" is the same reason we couldn't wait to hear him talk about "the voice of the turtle" when he opened his broadcasts every season. It meant renewal. It meant familiarity.

It meant we got to sit and hear a story told to us -- not with the bombardment of images and graphics and instant analysis, but with a soothing, laconic, Georgia-twanged voice that made us feel young and old at the same time.

This Friday marks two years that Ernie passed away from cancer. He was 92. I still miss him, as I'm sure you do. I miss his smile, his humility, his friendliness.

I miss his voice.

And I miss it more when I watch things like the NFL draft. Does this mean I'm getting too old, or that the world is getting too young?





Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles