Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 29, 2011 25 Nissan, 5771

A Party for Pundits and Politicians

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Michelle Malkin: David Limbaugh: The White House Correspondents' Association dinner — live on C-SPAN! — this Saturday is just a party. So why all the controversy? And if politics is just show business for ugly people, as Jay Leno once famously said, why do all the show business types want to mingle with us ugly people?

They do not need, as they will get, yet another red carpet and yet another party where their evening wear will be evaluated. (In 2009, Aston Kusher's bowtie was criticized for being too large. Nothing about his date, Demi Moore, was criticized for being too large.)

The answer, I guess, is that the stars get to see the president. And also they must experience a little frisson, a secret little thrill, when they — Kim Kardashian, Eliza Dushko, Justin Bieber! — draw crowds while members of the Supreme Court, sans robes, go unrecognized.

And the parties! The wonderful parties before and after, at which the reporters scan the crowds for important people to prove they are important enough to get invited to parties where important people get invited.

Frankly, the dinner is a burden on the president, whose aides spend hours writing his jokes and briefing him on how to deliver them. Unless they are briefing him on how not to deliver them, as happened in 2007, after the massacre at Virginia Tech, when President George W. Bush said this was no time to be a "funny guy."

Which should be pretty uncontroversial, right? Thirty-two people killed, so the president skips the yuks, right? Wrong! This is the White House Correspondents' Association Dinner, and so nothing is uncontroversial.

Columnist Frank Rich wrote in The New York Times: "Why did the killings in Iraq not preclude his being a "funny guy" at other press banquets we've watched on C-SPAN?"

What's more, Rich wrote, the media "served as captive dress extras in a propaganda stunt, lending their credibility to the president's sanctimonious exploitation of the Virginia Tech tragedy for his own political self-aggrandizement on national television. Meanwhile, the war was kept as tightly under wraps as the troops' coffins."

Whoa! And I, sitting there in my tux and clip-on bowtie, thought this was a party. Which, to most, it still is, though a party destined to be endlessly fraught with controversy, especially from the comics who are paid big bucks to deliver monologues each year to "lighten" the evening:

Such as Wanda Sykes' two "hilarious" riffs in 2009:

"Rush Limbaugh said he hopes this administration fails. … I hope his kidneys fail. How 'bout that? He needs a little waterboarding. That's what he needs."

To which she added: "It feels so good to have a black president … unless you screw up. Then everyone will be asking, "What's with that half-white guy? Who ordered up a mulatto?"

A blogger who goes by the apt name of BooMan wrote in 2009: "The primary importance of the WHCA Dinner is to document yearly just how out of touch our elite politicians and journalists are with the rest of the country and to confirm the rest of us in our hatred and resentment of this class of people who have led us like thieves and incompetents for decades without let up."

A point Stephen Colbert might endorse. Colbert was savaged in the press after his monologue in 2006, in which he said: "The President makes decisions. He's the decider. The press secretary announces those decisions, and you people of the press type those decisions down. Make, announce, type. Just put 'em through a spell check and go home."

Mr. (cq) Colbert has not been invited back.

And The New York Times has not been back at the dinner since 2007. "I think our rationale — and this is ours without judging anyone else," Dean Baquet, the Times Washington bureau chief told me in an e-mail, "(is) that it makes it appear that everything in Washington is a big game, theater. But that a couple times a year the press and pols take their costumes off, sing together, mingle with celebrities and act like we are all in it together. I just don't like the appearance."

Baquet pointed out that Times employees are allowed to attend dinners if they have won an award and that he attended a dinner when a Times reporter, the late Robin Toner, was memorialized. But, other than that, dinners such as the White House Correspondents' Association Dinner are off-limits.

"I'm not holier than thou," Baquet wrote. "Not judging. But that's my view. And I feel even more strongly while we are in two wars, other conflicts, and budget battles. It makes us look like part of the establishment. I don't much like that image."

I e-mailed Maureen Dowd, star columnist for the Times, and she had a different view.

"I miss going to the dinner. It's revealing to hear a president give a humor speech. And I always got a lot of work done there. What's the difference if you're talking to sources in a parking garage, a Senate corridor or a ballroom?" she wrote. "As long as Washington has existed, reporters have done some of their work in social settings. You don't drop your professional standards just because you're wearing a cocktail dress."

Me, I'm going again this year. I don't have any professional standards to drop.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate