Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 6, 2011 2 Nissan, 5771

For David, Who Always Listened to the Voices

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I am standing in the entrance to a parking lot at the University of Maryland, forcing the barrier open with both hands. The barrier, a long piece of lumber, is not meant to be lifted, it is meant to be opened with a keycard, but David Broder does not have the keycard.

Broder, who is teaching at the university while also holding down his day job of writing columns for The Washington Post, is going to use the parking space of Haynes Johnson, another distinguished Washington Post journalist. But Haynes keeps the keycard. Which means David must find someone to lift the barrier for him, which perhaps is why, it now occurs to me, he has invited me to speak to his class.

As I struggle with the entrance gate, I know how this will end: A campus cop will pull up, exit his patrol car, Taser me and ask Broder for his autograph.

No matter. I am willing to take the 1,500 volts. All I can think of is that I have been invited to speak to David Broder's class. I cannot remember the year I met him. It was probably in New Hampshire before a presidential primary. David loved New Hampshire, and how the delightful and quirky little state that ranks 42nd in U.S. population can make or break presidential careers.

I would have been far too shy to introduce myself. I was almost certainly introduced by my longtime friend and Broder's friend and colleague, Dan Balz. Broder was already a legend, writing one of the most influential political columns in the nation.

He was open and friendly and dressed in a style that could only be described as unconcerned. He had been born, I learned later, in Chicago Heights, Ill., a gritty southern suburb of Chicago, best known as being a headquarters for Al Capone. Inexplicably, Broder was a Cubs fan, when geographically he should have been a White Sox fan, Chicago's south side team.

He was a published author, had already won a Pulitzer Prize, was syndicated in hundreds of papers and was a regular on "Meet the Press." I should have hated him.

This proved impossible, however, and in time, I even got the nerve to greet him upon seeing him at this rally or that, and calling him by his first name. Many years later, we were part of a small group that went to the Shakespeare Theatre in Washington together, and this is probably where I met his wife, Ann, who had been his classmate at the University of Chicago. (I, too, married my college sweetheart, as did Dan Balz. I will leave it for the sociologists to determine what this means.)

When I called Dan and told him I was going to speak to Broder's class, he asked how I was getting there. David is going to pick me up, I said.

"In his car?" Dan said.

Of course, in his car, I said.

There was a pause. "Buckle up," Dan said.

It was not that Broder was a reckless driver, by any means. He just drove with a certain nonchalance, especially as to that law of physics that says two bodies cannot occupy the same space at the same time.

After we got to the campus and I manhandled the barrier out of the way, we went to his class. I remember not a word of what I said except I must have delivered my usual diatribe against placing too much faith in polls because the very first question from a student was, "If we don't get our information from polls, how do we learn what the voters think?"

But Mr. Broder pioneered in that, I said. It's called door-knocking.

Perhaps David had been too modest to tell them. Door-knocking, as the name implies, is when reporters go out, knock on the doors of complete strangers and interview them. Hardly anybody in America does this. It can be unpleasant, brutally difficult work. David loved it.

Maralee Schwartz, a former Washington Post reporter and editor, was stopped by the police from knocking on doors in Cicero, Ill., a western suburb of Chicago. She was put in the back of a police car and, after explaining what she was doing, the cops called the Post "to verify I wasn't a drug dealer or a hooker," Maralee wrote me in an e-mail.

But why did Broder do it, and ask other Post reporters to do it, when there was so much polling information, and demographics and other expert reports?

"I am sure David could not imagine writing about politics without talking to voters," Maralee wrote. "Yes, he talked to politicians at all levels, but that alone was not what enriched his coverage. Everything was of a piece, the pols, the polling, the demographics of a district or a state, and then the voters' voices made it whole."

The voters' voices made it whole. And David always wanted to hear the voters' voices

David died on March 9, having written what turned out to be his last column a few weeks earlier. In it, he talked about the Obama administration, foreign affairs and the Chicago Cubs.

David will be memorialized at a public service at the National Press Club this week. It will be on C-SPAN3 live and later on the C-SPAN networks and available online at the C-SPAN Video Library. Don't get out a hanky. The service, I am told, will be a celebration of his life.

Besides, what is there to cry about? David wrote his column to the end, and I cannot think of a better way to go.

Moreover, he is in a happy place now, one where there is always a parking spot and people always open their doors when you knock, and where the Cubs always have a chance. If not this year, next.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate