Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 1, 2011 26 Adar II, 5771

Backing the Rebels, No Questions Asked

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We are currently doing everything we can to bomb, strafe and use missiles to carry the rebels into power in Libya. We want them to win. We just don't know who they are.

This is not merely my opinion. It is the statement of Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, our point person in meeting with the rebels.

She was in London Tuesday to meet with diplomats from 30 countries, most of whom showed up to get in the group picture. There are certainly not 30 countries aiding us in waging the war in Libya.

Most of the media headlined Clinton's statement about possibly arming the rebels. Many stories left out entirely what I consider her more important statement that she really had no idea who the rebels are and that, in fact, they might actually include members of al-Qaida, the terrorist group that attacked America on Sept. 11, 2001.

I read dozens of stories that made no mention of this. Jennifer Epstein's story in Politico, I am happy to say, was an exception:

"Clinton didn't say whether the opposition movement includes members of the terrorist group al-Qaida, though she suggested it is possible.

"The opposition has demonstrated a 'commitment to democracy and to a very robust engagement with people from across the spectrum of Libyans,' but 'we do not have any specific information about specific individuals from any organization who are part of this,' she said."

Got that? We are killing people — Moammar Qadhafi's troops and possibly civilians through "collateral damage" — in order to put the rebels in power.

But "we do not have any specific information about specific individuals from any organization who are part of this," according to our secretary of state.

And they might include terrorists trying to destroy our country.

Does this make any sense? Shouldn't we know whom we are fighting for before we fight for them? Thus far, the U.S. has taken no casualties. Two of our airmen had to bail out over Libya, but thankfully they survived without injury.

We can't be sure our absolute safety will continue, however. Wars are messy. Accidents happen. And if we arm the rebels, those arms often require instruction and maintenance that sometimes requires "advisers" to accompany them.

President Obama has promised no American ground troops in Libya, but past presidents have injected advisers and even special forces into wars and not called them troops.

Make no mistake: Eventually troops — from some country — may be necessary if the rebels are going to win.

According to accounts from Western reporters on the ground, the rebels are highly disorganized, poorly trained, lightly armed and prone to rapid retreat.

Obama gave his speech Monday just at the time the rebels were taking territory and moving toward Qadhafi's stronghold, the capital city of Tripoli. Victory was in the air, and this made Obama's policy of intervention in Libya to protect American "core values" appear to be a stunning success.

But things have turned around quickly. The next day, Qadhafi's forces dug in and fired back. And, according to Reuters, "Libyan rebels fled in headlong retreat from the superior firepower and tactics of Moammar Gadhafi's troops."

According to the BBC's Nick Springate reporting from eastern Libya: "We've seen an incredible change in the last few hours. … It is an amazing routing of rebel forces. … Whenever they come up against the Gadhafi forces, they literally turn tail and run."

The Washington Post reported Wednesday that the rebels were in "chaotic retreat" and that the rebel opposition "may have reached the limits of its capacity."

So this war might take longer than a few weeks. But according to BBC News: "There may be limited appetite for a long-term military campaign within NATO, even one restricted to air operations. All of the divisions that have been there from the outset risk resurfacing.

"A stalemate on the battlefield could reopen the question of arming the rebel forces, something that many see as being banned by the U.N.-imposed arms embargo."

By the way, the rebels' Transitional National Council was not invited to the London conference, even though some people claiming to be rebel officials showed up to talk in the corridors. (Clinton sat down with them in an actual office.) This is because almost nobody, including the United States, recognizes the rebels as the legitimate government of Libya.

Which could make it kind of tricky to give that $30 billion in frozen Libyan government money to the rebels so they can pay us for arms and support, as President Obama implied in his speech. And remember how we were going to pay for the Iraq war with Iraqi oil profits? Remember how well that worked out?

So let's see where we are: We are backing the rebels. Though we don't know who they are. And they appear to be in headlong retreat. Leaving us … where?

Oh, don't worry. We are backing the people of Libya, and the people of Libya love us, do they not?

"Libya has for years been a fertile recruiting ground for al-Qaida," The Washington Post reported Wednesday. "Libyans have served in the senior ranks of the terrorist network and streamed into Iraq in disproportionately large numbers to carry out attacks on U.S. forces."

Whoops. Is there time for a rewind?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate