Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Missing the good old days of the Cold War

By Susan Reimer




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I don't know about you, but I miss the Cold War.

Life was simpler when Russia was all in one piece and our only serious enemy. When the Chinese kept themselves behind locked doors and didn't deal with anybody. When there was an Iron Curtain and you were either behind it or not.

True, we spent the Cold War always on the cusp of Armageddon. Nuclear annihilation was possible at any moment, and that can be stressful. But there was comfort in knowing that if you crawled under your desk at school, you'd be fine.

Personally, I liked it better when wars were started by the assassination of archdukes or tanks rolling into France. That made things so much clearer. There is no talk about "time-limited, scope-limited military action" when bombs are dropped on your entire Pacific fleet.

And logistically, it was easier to conjure a mental picture of war back in the day. France, Italy, Germany, Russia. Pretty basic stuff. Today's conflicts would test the geography knowledge of a Jeopardy champion.

Egypt, sure. But Yemen? Bahrain? Syria? It's like what we used to say about Vietnam. We couldn't find it on a map — until our soldiers started coming back from there in coffins.

Life is complicated enough without having Russia blow up into a dozen or more unpronounceable pieces, each with its own complicated ax to grind and perhaps willing to buy the odd nuclear weapon purloined from an old Soviet stockpile.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


And we just had to award an Olympic stage to the Chinese. We thought we could coax them to join the international community, but then we found out they want to own it. That genie is never going back into the bottle.

Things are so different now.

One crazy nomad gets lucky with a couple of planes, and we start a years-long war in a country he never lived in, eventually returning our focus to another war in a country he has undoubtedly left.

And it seems none of the martyrs we are fighting ever saw the movie "Patton," in which the famous general explained that war does not mean that you die for your cause — you make sure the other guy dies for his. Do the math! If your whole side blows itself up, who is left to ride in the motorcade down Main Street on V-Day?

Life is busy imitating art in this brave new world. Johnny Depp owns his own island, thanks to a series of movies about pirates who capture innocent maidens and ships laden with trade; meanwhile, nobody can figure out how to stop real pirates, who are making the seas unsafe for innocent pleasure boaters and ships laden with trade.

Now the lid has blown off the entire Arab world thanks to, in equal parts, tyranny, rising food prices, unemployed youth and Facebook. It all makes sense only if you believe that American blue jeans were the reason the Berlin Wall had to come down.

Our answer is a "no-fly zone," which is a bit of a misnomer if the first thing you do is to destroy the entire air force in the zone. If there is nothing left to fly, it seems like the perfect opportunity to declare victory and go home.

And how can it be possible that the Middle East is in such turmoil and it isn't the Israelis and the Palestinians at each other's throats? Even those old combatants must be confused.

I don't know. The world has changed. It was simpler when wars were cold and nobody died but the spies.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Susan Reimer is a columnist for The Baltimore Sun. Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

Friends can be risky business for teens

In Social Security reports, a story of women's priorities

One soon-to-be grandmother's advice about sweating the small stuff

In my family's universe, I am not a star

Is America ready for a new ‘life stage’?

Paying for good behavior is worth every penny

He's on vacation, but she needs a break

Conan says what we wish we could

Body image issues get a new meaning

A spreadsheet for happiness? Thanks, but I'll take the wine



© 2011, The Baltimore Sun. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles