Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 19, 2011/ 15 Nissan, 5771

On government's menu

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Boy, school lunch sure has changed since I was a kid.

The Chicago Tribune reports that a principal in a Chicago school forbids her students from bringing in their own lunches.

She created the policy six years ago after watching students bring in "bottles of soda and flaming hot chips" for their lunches.

By mandating that her students eat school-prepared lunches, she explains, she can be sure they are drinking milk instead of Coke -- that they are getting proper nutrition.

In these nutty modern times, who can blame her?

For starters, a lot of our kids are awfully chubby these days.

Nearly 16 percent -- three times the percentage in 1980 -- are overweight, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

If parents keep feeding their kids tasty, high-calorie treats, shouldn't principals and really smart people in the federal government stop them?

Besides, the government spends billions paying for breakfast and lunch in America's schools -- a smart principal ought to take advantage of that.

Half of America's 30 million schoolchildren participating in the National School Lunch Program receive free grub -- at a cost of some $10 billion this year.

Even kids from high-income families receive partial lunch subsidies.

Now that President Obama has signed the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010 into law -- the government will spend another $4.5 billion to make schools abide by new nutrition and anti-obesity standards -- government-funded lunches will do away with junk food in the schools.

If only we'd had such programs when I attended St. Germaine Catholic School in the '70s.

In those unprogressive times, parents, not the government, were responsible for feeding their kids!

Parents woke early in the morning to pack their kids' lunches -- though my mother wasn't very good at it.

Every day, she made me a sandwich with Cellone's Italian bread, low-fat ham, lettuce and tomato. She always included a couple pieces of fruit and gave me money to buy milk.

Every day, I sat next to Jimmy Schmidt. His lunch consisted of peanut butter and jelly on fresh Wonder bread, a can of Coke, a Hostess Ho Ho and a Nestle Crunch bar -- lunch heaven for a kid back then.

Every day, I asked Jimmy if he wanted to trade. Every day, he looked at me like I had rocks in my head.

So it delights me to think how different things would have been had the toxic treats that Jimmy brought to St. Germaine been forbidden.

Under today's anti-obesity guidelines, his sugary drinks, chocolate bars and Ho Hos might have been banned.

Our principal might have confiscated Jimmy's treats, as some principals are doing now (I'm not making that up).

Then Jimmy and I would have been forced to eat the very same government-mandated grub.

I know we've lost any sense of personal responsibility in America.

I know that government is totally out of control -- that providing for needy kids is one thing, but meddling with every other kid's grub is well over the line.

But I also know this:

Though I never got to enjoy a nice chocolate bar, Ho Ho and cold can of Coke, I would have delighted in the knowledge that neither would have Jimmy Schmidt!

I would have enjoyed the shared misery that the government is masterful in creating.

Now you know why school lunches have changed so much since I was a kid!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles