Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 28, 2011/ 24 Nissan, 5771

Take Your Middle-Aged Kid to Retirement Day

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Take Our Daughters and Sons to Work Day ought to be expanded.

One day every April -- this year, it'll be on Thursday -- parents bring their kids to workplaces to help them "envision their future and begin steps toward their end goals."

But why limit the program to kids 8 to 18? In these difficult economic times, we middle-aged people need dreams and aspirations, too.

That's why, every year, I spend that day shadowing my parents. They are retired.

It usually begins at 5:30 a.m., when my father and I drink coffee and complete the crossword puzzle.

"This is the life," I say. "No job, no boss and lots of time to do crossword puzzles!"

He asks me for a three-letter word for a son who gets on his father's nerves, but I'm never very sharp at that hour.

Shouting out several wrong answers, I accidentally wake Mom, who stumbles in to join us.

"What do you want with us?" she says, rubbing her eyes.

I drop a carton of milk on the floor as I attempt to prepare her coffee.

"Your father is calling you from the other room," she says.

I don't hear his calls, though. All I hear are his heavy steps heading to the bathroom. He slams the bathroom door shut just as I get there.

"Did you call me, Dad?"

"No."

"If you're going to finish the crossword puzzle in there, can you hand me the Reader's Digest?"

As we while the morning away, the mailman arrives. He delivers two checks -- one from a private retirement account, one from Social Security.

"Now that's what I'm talking about!" I shout, as Mom and Dad roll their eyes.

Dad and I head to the bank to deposit the checks. The manager has her young daughter with her at work.

The girl proudly tells me she will be a bank president one day.

"I hope to retire," I tell her.

By early afternoon, I am really taking to the retired life. As Mom leaves the house to go for a walk with her retired friends, Dad and I watch "Judge Judy."

"How do you think she will rule on this one?" I say.

"Don't you have a job to go to?" he says.

"Can we watch 'The Price is Right' later?" I say.

"Your mother worries about you," he says.

We are both pretty drowsy about then. I nod off on the family-room couch as Dad saws logs in his favorite leather chair.

I wake refreshed as Mom arrives back home.

"How was your walk?" I ask her.

"Why aren't you married?" she replies.

Take Our Daughters and Sons to Work Day, originally Take Our Daughters to Work Day, was established by the Ms. Foundation 18 years ago.

In 2003, the program was expanded to include boys. I say it's high time we expand it to include everybody else, too.

Aspiring to the simple retirement so many of our parents enjoy may drive more adults to make our politicians get our affairs in order.

If we don't get spending down, we face a certain future of massive taxes and a dead economy that will make our retirement unlikely.

In any event, my day shadowing Mom and Dad is always productive.

Unlike the Ms. Foundation people, who think big careers are everything, I am reminded that not working is where it's at.

I hope to begin not working -- er, retirement -- as soon as possible.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2011, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles