Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 4, 2011 / 29 Adar II, 5771

Keeping the fight alive

By Kathryn Lopez




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "We can't leave our troops on the beach."

Ilario Pantano, a former sniper, sat in my office, rolling his shirtsleeve back down after showing me the United States Marine Corps tattoo on his arm. He wasn't showing off. He was making a point. "If my country is worth dying for, it's worth fighting for." Which is what brought him to Washington.

He's put his life on the line in the Marines, and now the North Carolina resident is in the embryonic stages of his second run for Congress. Last year, he fared reasonably well in a district that's been voting Democrat since the Reconstruction. The problems that called him to duty on the campaign trail have not gone away, and the people who had faith in him still deserve an alternative to their current representation. So Pantano feels like he owes them a second try. And with his national-security and economics experience available during a critical time in our history, he owes his country another effort, too.

The tea-party movement, the conservative constituents of his district who got engaged and have, in many cases, stayed engaged, are the troops Pantano was referring to; the folks he refuses to leave stranded.

But there are also troops in Washington D.C., and they need not only support on the home front, but reinforcements as well.

Pantano represents the reinforcements. Because the guys who want to change the way Washington works; to put the federal government on a life-saving diet; to get government regulation out of the way of the American family; to protect the consciences of Americans who don't want their money going near abortions … they need more votes in Washington.

"I think there was a bit of a grace period granted the GOP leaders in D.C. But patience is wearing thin," Teri Christoph, co-founder of Smart Girl Politics, a cyber-tea-party hub, tells me. "We are looking for accountability from our leaders, regardless of party, and if we don't get it, we'll make our voices heard. … All it takes is inaction in Washington and we'll be seeing a marked uptick in conservative activism."

That impatience manifested itself during a "Continuing Revolution" rally held on Capitol Hill on the last day of March. But, that impatience, too, can be heard in the voice of the Speaker of the House. When you insist the Senate "pass the damn thing" -- fund the federal government in a responsible manner -- you don't exactly sound like a Washington Brahmin hobnobbing at the country club.

"Baby boomers, my generation, we've created a pretty big mess. We've made promises to ourselves that our kids and grandkids simply cannot afford. To most politicians, it's easier just to keep kicking the can down the road or create some toothless commission. If those in charge won't step up and offer the serious solutions to fix entitlement programs, we need leaders who will."

That was John Boehner speaking more than a year ago now. He also said, in the same speech to the Conservative Political Action Committee, "I can tell you that a Republican Congress is not going to change the world in two years. We won't. We can't. But we can stop the Pelosi-Obama agenda and we can do it quickly. And what we can do is to continue to offer better solutions to the American people to get our country back on track once again."

Expectations are high. That's a wonderful blessing. It keeps us working harder and wanting more. But, as frustrating as it is, even as we want as much change as we can get immediately, there are certain realities to Washington. The Speaker of the House cannot unilaterally make the will of the House law. He needs more votes in Washington. He needs a willing Senate, knowing the current president isn't going to play ball. That's not to make excuses or open a path for complacency -- it's a call to action.

At the same time as the "Continuing Revolution" rally, at least one congressman was on his knees in prayer at a Capitol Hill church. Pro-life activists were continuing their Lenten 40 Days for Life campaign. Praying for courage and prudence and sustenance is not a partisan prayer, but it's a necessary one in the face of the mess that's so distressed Boehner and his fellow warriors. Our hearts will be restless. They should be. They will keep us working harder and inspire us to be better and braver.

"(W)e frequently hear it remarked that the privilege of freedom has to be re-won once in every generation -- or, say, three or four times a century," the contemporary philosopher Yves Simon wrote. "Even that is too much optimism. Freedom is impregnably assured only by an effort to conquer it which is renewed every day."

We see that happening -- maybe -- on the streets of many Arab nations, some of which our media and White House have chosen to support and others they haven't as much. But we see that, too, in the impatience of many Americans who became engaged in this last election and have stayed engaged since. They have more allies in Congress now, people they sent to Washington. And it's important to give these freshman politicians support, by not expecting the impossible, and by making sure they have reinforcements. Such as Pantano in the House and yet more troops in the Senate, and hope for change on the other end of Pennsylvania Avenue.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles