Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 22, 2011 / 18 Nissan, 5771

How to decide on your next computer purchase

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | So, my Facebook friend pings me - that's how the cognoscenti speak, it seems - and asks, should they get the Dell laptop with the screaming Intel chip and backlit keyboard, or should they go for the Hewlett-Packard model with an AMD processor.

Replying, I suggested the HP might be a better buy. My friend, who shared an elementary school classroom with me, is enamored of Intel's speed and keyboards that are backlit. All the best, I replied.

Now, which one of us is right?

Answer: maybe both. I happen to not be as great a fan of Dell as some people are, chiefly because I've seen too many colleagues struggle with their Dell portables. Lots of folks probably are happy with their Dell notebooks. The people I share an office with, well, not so much.

And, I have no qualms about non-Intel processors, even though I like Intel's chips immensely. AMD just happens to be a very good maker of computer processors, and rare has been the instance of someone decrying their AMD selection.

So my onetime classmate may be right: for him, the Dell seems to make sense, and, I hope, the return policy will allow him to change his mind relatively quickly, should he decide otherwise.

The point is that no single person's opinion - even that of this reviewer, who's had 28 years of working with PCs in just about every configuration - is supreme. As they say in the car ads, "your mileage may vary." And I certainly wish my friend success with the purchase. As my mother used to say, "Use it in good health."

Perhaps the first rule of computer shopping now is to buy what you're comfortable with. Now, if you're comfortable with a 1998-vintage IBM PC, you've got a surprise coming: they don't make those models anymore. Lenovo, a Chinese company, bought the IBM PC line and now has their own desktops. But if your last computer was an HP and you're happy with HP, stick with 'em.

If you're looking to switch, or feel a particular feature is too important to ignore - say a backlit keyboard - then follow your heart. But give careful consideration to how much you really need a given feature. I have a backlit keyboard on the MacBook Pro I'm privileged to use, but can't remember the last time that was "needed."

Also know that some features can easily be supplied via external means. Don't like your portable's keyboard? You can get a wireless one to supplant it. Need a portable some times, but need a larger display most of the time? Don't buy a 17-inch portable, just get an adapter, an external screen (I've seen good 24-inch displays for below $150 at TigerDirect.com) and if you feel truly extravagant, drop another $100 or so for a "full-motion desk mount" that allows your screen to pivot 90 degrees.

You'll thank me later, I promise.

The point is that computer shopping nowadays is far more robust nowadays than it ever was. You don't have to "settle" for what some manufacturer - or any manufacturer, for that matter - tells you is available. There's always something else, somewhere else that might work as well or even better. Do a thorough search, and enjoy the hunt!

GET THIS FOR YOUR iPAD 2 - The rush to deliver iPad 2 accessories is on, five weeks after the launch of the new Apple Inc. product. One item I recommend highly has an unwieldy name: "Antimicrobial Germ Resistant Advanced Screen Protector with Steritouch for Apple iPad 2," but it'll be the best $19.95 you'll spend. Proporta, the British-based firm that sells the cover, ships to the U.S. and Canada for just $4.95 an order, which makes ordering here as simple as can be. Your screen is protected (very important) and it's germ-resistant. Details online at http://bit.ly/iiTvxg.

Signature capture is something you're going to hear more and more about when it comes to mobile devices. One nice application, for iPhone and iPad, is Sign-N-Send, well worth the $1.99, and it's pretty darned amazing. Master the easy touch-based interface, enlarge the area you need to sign and, with very little practice, you'll have a great signature using your finger or a stylus the iPad/iPhone support. It's great for working with expense reports, applications, and other documents. Details online at http://bit.ly/eU61IB.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2011, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles