Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 15, 2011 / 11 Nissan, 5771

Staying Connected Eases, Even at 30,000 Feet High

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | HUNTSVILLE, Alabama --- The nickname for this northern Alabama burgh is "Rocket City," after the Redstone Arsenal and famed NASA installation. This is the town where the late Werner Von Braun and colleagues designed the rocket that took Americans to the moon and brought them home. Rocketing around the Internet from here was less problematic than one might have feared.

In fact, connectivity took off as I did when flying AirTran from Baltimore Washington International Airport. That airline features GoGo Inflight Internet, an airborne Wi-Fi service from Colorado-based Aircell Business Aviation Services on all its flights, as does Virgin America. The service is also available on "select Air Canada, Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Frontier Airlines, United Airlines, and US Airways flights, the firm says.

Pricing ranges from $4.95 for a single flight up to $39.95 for a one-month pass good on all these airlines. I was in the middle of the pack at $19.95 for one month on AirTran.

Speed and connectivity were good, although not really good enough to support Skype, the Internet-based phone service. I could connect via Skype but the voice-into-data-packet conversion didn't work all that well.

But for keeping up with e-mail, and especially when trying to meet crucial deadlines, this service is a dream. Information can be found at www.gogoinflight.com. Inflight Internet isn't the newest thing - it's been popping up on aircraft during the past couple of years - but the proliferation of smartphones and tablet or netbook computers that are easier to use in the narrow confines of most airline seats makes having that access quite appealing.

On the ground, I depended upon wired Internet access at one of the local Hampton Inns. What used to be a charged-for service just a couple of years back is now free at most major hotel brands, and that's a good thing.

But there were still situations where Wi-Fi came in handy. Attending a three-day conference at Huntsville's Oakwood University, I was glad for the campus's excellent coverage. In my hotel room, I couldn't use my Apple iPad 2 effectively without Wi-Fi.

What to do? Well, I could have turned my Apple iPhone 4 into a wireless "hotspot," tethering it to the iPad, but my carrier, AT&T Wireless, apparently that needs to be set up in advance. I'll take care of it when I get home.

But I did have a "secret weapon," the new Motorola Atrix cell phone. My review unit - which will be discussed here in greater detail shortly - was set up by AT&T with the hotspot capability, and it worked quickly and flawlessly. After a quick check to see if it was authorized to function in this role, the setup was complete. It's possible to add a security level if you're concerned about unauthorized use of your hotspot.

Performance was quite good, in a variety of locations and circumstances. I'm not sure of the costs involved, yet, but for business travelers, having this capability can be important, because "always on" access is, obviously, a rather useful thing.

LAST-MINUTE TAX RETURN SITES: Once again this year, I'd suggest either CompleteTax.com or TurboTax.com as resources for your tax prep. I like the interfaces at both Websites, and I also found completing returns at either one as pleasant a task as possible, considering, after all, that this is preparing a tax return.

CompleteTax.com is a product of CCH, the folks who prepare the tax software many accounting firms, from small practices to large ones, use in their own income tax work. TurboTax.com is part of the Intuit enterprise, and its reputation is also excellent.

Which one you choose depends on your comfort level. And if you can't file in time, an extension can be filed via www.irs.gov. That'll give you more time to do the paperwork, but not, if you owe money, to pay.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2011, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles