Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 11, 2011 / 7 Nissan, 5771

Why are we fighting for a government that defiles our values?

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A week ago Friday, a mob stormed the U.N. compound in Mazar-i-Sharif in northeastern Afghanistan. Seven U.N. employees -- four Nepalese security guards, a Norwegian, a Romanian and a Swede -- were killed.

The murders were in retaliation for the burning of a Quran more than a week before by obscure Florida pastor Terry Jones.

Until the riot, Americans were unaware the publicity hound in Gainesville had torched the Muslim holy book because most in our news media ignored the despicable stunt. How did the mob in Mazar-i-Sharif learn of it?

"Had (Afghan President Hamid) Karzai not tried to score some unprincipled defender-of-the-faith points from his perch in Kabul, few if any Afghans would have known about the March 20 Koran 'trial' in Florida," wrote TIME magazine's Tim Padgett.

Mr. Karzai demanded that either the United Nations or the United States punish Mr. Jones, though Mr. Karzai knows perfectly well that, obnoxious as it was, what Rev. Jones did is protected speech under the First Amendment of our Constitution.

But it wasn't Mr. Jones who was responsible for the Mazar-i-Sharif murders. The blame lies with those who regard indiscriminate violence as an appropriate response to a perceived insult to their religion.

Afghan mullahs have urged violent protests, and some have offered rewards for assassinations, noted Afghan journalist Abdulhadi Hairan. The government has done nothing to stop this. Indeed, he said, the provincial governor may have planned the assault on the U.N. compound.

"I feel utterly ashamed of the presence of these mullahs and imams in our country who always say our religion is full of peace but in practice do everything in the most violent way possible," Mr. Hairan wrote.

One high official of Mr. Karzai's Peace Council, "a gathering of former warlords and war criminals ... tried to justify the attack on the U.N. compound and threatened that there will be more such protests," Mr. Hairan reported.

And there were -- in Kandahar, where 12 people were killed; Kabul; Jalalabad; Lashkar Gah and Herat.

If Mr. Hairan, a Muslim schooled in madrassas, gets it, why doesn't Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev.?

Mr. Reid said he'd consider having the Senate formally condemn the Quran burning, the First Amendment notwithstanding.

Our commander in Afghanistan, Gen. David Petraeus, issued a statement condemning it but included not a word of criticism of the mob violence.

I wish he were more like Gen. Sir Charles Napier, who served in India in the 1840s. When Hindus warned him not to interfere with the custom of suttee, Gen. Napier responded:

"You say that it is your custom to burn widows. Very well. We also have a custom. When men burn a woman alive, we tie a rope around their necks and we hang them. Build your funeral pyre. Beside it, my carpenters will build a gallows. You may follow your custom. And then we will follow ours."

It's prudent and polite to display cultural sensitivity. That's why American servicewomen in Afghanistan wear head scarves.

But freedom of speech and freedom of religion are the cornerstones on which the American republic was founded. If we're not fighting to defend these, what are we fighting for? And if it isn't to oppose violent religious extremism like that at Mazar-i-Sharif, what are we fighting against?

Thanks in part to Gen. Napier, suttee was virtually ended in India. But in Afghanistan, we're doing next to nothing to advance our values. Just two months ago, the Karzai government was planning to hang Said Musa, an Afghan Red Cross worker, for the "crime" of converting to Christianity.

"We should have imagined that to be the case under the Taliban," said Carl Moeller, president of the Christian aid group Open Doors USA. "But here is the government, in a nation we fought in and our boys and girls died for [doing the same thing]. That's crazy to me that this is going on."

After Mr. Musa's plight was publicized worldwide, he was released quietly and spirited out of the country. But if it could have been done in secret, the Karzai government would have executed him.

On April 7, two American soldiers were shot by an Afghan policeman they were training, bringing the number of Americans killed in Afghanistan to 1,527. It is not worth the life of a single American soldier more to preserve such a regime.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2009, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles