Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 7, 2011 / 3 Nissan, 5771

Readers weigh in on the royal wedding

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'd like to say that I'm a changed man.

I'd like to say that I've seen the error of my ways.

I'd like to say that I will put on a princess outfit and accept an invitation from six of my readers in Huntington Beach, Calif., to join them on April 29 for a royal wedding-watching party.

I'd like to say all that, but I won't.

The truth is that I still don't understand why Americans care that Prince William and Kate Middleton are going to be married in a ceremony that will be televised to a worldwide audience that will not include me and about 40 percent of my readers.

Those readers agreed with my bewilderment in last's week's column, and a few them weren't even from this country.

Among the more than 100 people who responded to the column were six people who identified themselves as Brits (who would lie about that?), three Canadians (the place where the Queen's face adorns the money) and a woman who claimed royal heritage from Belgium (why would I make this stuff up?).

Two of the Brits agreed with me, but the others and their Canadian cousins said they were looking forward to the wedding. Her highness from Belgium is really excited.

And she was not alone — 55 percent of respondents said they were excited about the nuptials, many of whom said they are intrigued by the connection of William to the beloved Lady Di, the fantasy aspect of royal weddings and the princess culture.

I know that leaves about five percent of the respondents unaccounted for, but they were readers who didn't express an opinion either way, but wondered why people like me even write about royal weddings, not to mention Charlie Sheen.

Here are some of the responses to the question: "Why should Americans care about this wedding?"

"The answer is obvious. It is 20 minutes down the road from my house. It is Disneyland. Or, better yet, just Disney. We Californians and, for that matter most of America, are fascinated with princess culture thanks to the years of princess movies that Disney has so artfully placed in our collective sub-consciousness. Have you been to Disneyland lately? Have you seen the hundreds of little girls dressed like princesses?" — Dani Hodgins

"We care because England is our Mother. And although we have grown up, moved away and created our own traditions, we still feel nostalgic about what we've left behind." — Rowena Combs

"I didn't even know who Prince William or Kate Middleton were, or that they are getting married, and I didn't care, until you wrote about them. Now I'm hooked. Thanks." — Bob Greenspan.

"I'm an avid wedding watcher (for the same reason) people pay $10 to go to the movies. Mostly, to escape into a different world, whether it be scary, romantic or touching. Every day, we are bombarded with bad news, war, gas prices, food prices, murder and earthquakes. So, for just a little while, let us just enjoy a fairy tale coming true. Let us escape into a world we will never know. — D in HB

"I suppose it's about what their wedding symbolizes. I suppose it symbolizes hope." — Nancy Nagle

"For the same reason we follow the antics of Charlie and Lindsay. We don't want to be thought of as dumb or out of touch." — Linda Tate

"I was in my 20s when Princess Di did the deed with good old Charles. I wasn't interested then either. The only reason I watched any of it was the fact that it was on every television screen in the world and curiosity got the better of me. The only reason I took a second look was because hers had to be the ugliest wedding gown I've ever seen. And — on my second look she appeared to me to be the most frightened bride I've ever seen." — Dana Zyla

"There's still that fascination/connection with Princess Di. People just can't let go. Think Elvis. Half those that care see her as the next Princess Di — another stunningly beautiful commoner marrying into royalty." — Dyanne Roper

"One answer: Cinderella. We all want to be Cinderella, or marry Cinderella and if we can't, then we will watch anything or anyone who comes close to Cinderella." — Becki

"Maybe Americans fawn all over the royals for the simple reason we don't have them. People want what they can't/don't have. They are living their fantasies through the royalty. Who would not want a handsome prince who would be king?" — Cheryl

"I don't believe that the royal wedding is a big deal with the average American. It's just the media's need to blah-blah-blah. Kinda like a great white shark's need to be in motion. I never hear anyone talking about it. I didn't even know when the wedding date was nor knew what they looked like until I read your column." — Paul Scott

"Like you, I am as mystified as they get on this upcoming event. I can only think that it is due to William being the first born son of the late Princess Diana, whom the world so adored." — Lace Michael

"Don't be so bloody daft, man. It's all about Americans being on a guilt trip and regretting their treasonous action in 1776 in overthrowing the best king they ever had." — unidentified British guy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles