Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 11, 2011 / 7 Nisan, 5771

Making Sense of Fashion Sense

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last year, with winter winding down, I went to the closet and picked out a light-colored suit.

"No, no!" I was scolded. "You can't wear beige until it's actually spring."

Oh, I said.

Months later, I went to the closet and grabbed a nice black suit.

"No, no!" I was scolded. "You can't wear wool until the fall!"

Oh, I said.

As you can probably tell, I am a "guy", and by "guy" I mean "no fashion sense whatsoever." When I was a kid my mother told me not to wear red with green or I'd look like a Christmas tree. Other than that, I know nothing.

So here we are, another change of season and I am once again lost as to what to wear. Are short sleeve dress shirts for nerds only? Do you tuck in a sweater? Sandals - when, where, why?

But it's time to declare that I am not alone. Many men stand lost in front of the mirror, confused, confounded, lacking the ability to distinguish Armani from Adidas.

We're just too embarrassed to admit it.

Well, I'm coming out of my closet (stop smirking!) to announce that I have no idea what's going on in there, shoes, socks, ties, shirts, they're mingling, dancing, making up new colors, Lord knows what, and so I finally, in print, must ask the supposedly simple fashion questions that we "guys" struggle with every day.

For example:


  • Are skinny ties ever coming back or can I use them as luggage wraps?

  • Is it horizontal or vertical stripes that make you look fat?

  • When is it OK to wear sneakers with a suit? Is it only if you're Jerry Seinfeld?

  • Do blue and brown go together?

  • They say don't mix a striped shirt with a patterned tie, but how come those NFL analysts wear both, behind a checkered suit?

  • Are flare bottoms still a no-no?

  • If you wear a denim shirt, do you have to wear denim pants?

  • What age is too old for corduroy?

  • Is that how you spell corduroy?

  • I hear silk suits are the best, but then I hear silk suits are only for guys in the "Godfather." Which is it?

  • Shorts. Can they go past your knees if you're out of high school? Is there a proper time to wear dark socks with shorts? Is there a proper time to wear any socks with shorts?

  • And Crocs. I don't get them. Do they count as shoes? Or are they flippers?

More questions, like:


  • How low should the tie hang? And is it OK to tuck the back of the tie into your shirt if it exceeds the front by a foot?

  • Why do they make linen shirts if the first time you wear them, they are wrinkled beyond use?

  • Leather shorts. Always bad, right?

  • Same for male leggings?

  • Does brown go with green?

  • OK, and this is a common one for me: Do khaki pants count as dress wear?

  • Do suspenders serve a function?

  • Explain to me again: You wear black shoes with what, and brown shoes with what?

  • Must all sweater fabrics itch?

  • On a suit, should the pants cuff touch the shoe, cover the laces, or cover the whole foot?

  • When can you get away with no socks?

If you can answer these questions, I'd feel much more confident when I enter that strange wasteland known as "my closet." Until then, like many of my "guy" brethren, I remain confused by the most basic fashion issues.

Like, if you wear red and green, do you look like a Christm--

Never mind. That one, I know.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2011, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles