Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 16, 2010 / 2 Iyar, 5770

So long sweets, sugar has left the building

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Car seats for babies now come with drink cup holders. I mention this to the husband and he says the kids should hold out for car seats that come with built-ins for remote controls as well.


Babies may be forming a lobby and doing that very thing right now.


We condition kids to slurp, graze and nosh constantly (not unlike ourselves), park them in front of the tube (also, not unlike ourselves) and then wonder why they have weight problems and don't want to play outside.


Some of our son's first words were "appuh joo." We finally figured out he was saying "apple juice." He howled for it morning, noon and night. The tot was hooked.


The kid was on his way to being a juice-box junkie. It took several weeks, and a 12-step fruit juice recovery program, but we got him off the stuff.


We're all sipping something these days — fancy coffees, sugary sodas, energy drinks and fruity teas.


We are awash in sugar. We can tell what month it is by the candies in the store. Caramel apples kick off September; October unfolds with bags of snack-size candies for Halloween and later mushrooms into candy corn for Thanksgiving. We crescendo at Christmas with cookies, candies, fudge, resulting in a glazed (as in Krispy Kreme) look as we step on the scales.

Letter from JWR publisher


The National Confectioner's Association has designated 35 candy holidays, which are amusingly listed under the heading of Healthy Living and Family Fun.


There is National Chocolate-Covered Cherry Day, National English Toffee Day, or National Peanut Brittle Day. If those don't strike your sweet tooth, hold out for National Gum Drop Day, Chocolate Mint Day, National Licorice Day or National Chocolate-Covered Cashews Day.


A Harris poll asked why we have seen such an increase in obesity. Eighty-three percent said it was because we aren't exercising enough. The truth is, we most often tip the scales not for lack of exercise, but due to too many calories. I'll take the value meal, please.


Beverages account for a lot of our calories. (As a friend used to say, why drink your calories when you can eat them?) A 12-ounce soft drink contains roughly 10 teaspoons of sugar. Who would spoon 10 teaspoons of refined white sugar onto a placemat and call a kid to the table? "Chow down, kids, there's more where this came from!"


A television commercial has been airing that shows vendors from the three major soft drink companies walking out of a school pulling carts with cans of soda on them. A voice-over says they are voluntarily removing full-calorie drinks from schools. That's voluntary as in a lot of adults in a lot of states have passed laws forcing them out.


Then again, adults are the ones who originally invited the vendors in — all in the interest of raising revenues and making money off the students. The kids were hooked on the soft drinks; the schools were hooked on money.


I can't quite make out what the vendors say as they walk out the doors, but I'm pretty sure it's, "See you later, Sugar." It is a long-overdue and sweet departure.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles