Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 30, 2010 / 16 Iyar 5770

TV critics sigh at too much thigh

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We used to watch the news to learn the news, but now it seems we watch the news to watch the anchors.


The other day we were watching a market update and in the midst of the Dow surging, I exclaimed, "Look at that woman's complexion!"


"It's a soft-focus filter," the husband said. "The Dow is headed for a new high."


"Forget the Dow. That woman has flawless skin. She's beautiful," I sighed.


"Well, she's also young," the husband added.


"There's a reason they don't have old people on television," I said.


The husband corrected me and said, "They do have old people on television — they're all on "60 Minutes."


Our critique sessions began when the skirts on a female co-host on a morning news show started growing shorter and shorter. We're talking scary short as in I only want to see that much exposed thigh at a KFC.


"Maybe someone will tell her to pull her skirt down at the commercial break," I said. "Surely the cameramen see that. Why don't they tell her?"


"The cameramen may like it," the husband said.


And then I started checking that morning news show daily to see if someone might send in an e-mail ("Pull your skirt down — this is your mother!") or a producer might appear in the corner of a shot making a tugging motion. Nothing. And somehow it all spiraled downward from there.


We now voice opinions on pastel ties, suits with wide stripes, and a certain evening host whose nearly every guest is female, under 40 and blonde.


We are usually generous in our comments, with the exception of men who color their hair.


"Nobody has hair that black," the husband says. "It looks like boot polish."


"He should have gotten his eyebrows done when they did his hair," I offer, oblivious to the 23-car Interstate pile-up the man is describing.

Letter from JWR publisher

It is our opinion that a female doesn't have a chance at the national level these days unless she has walked at least three beauty pageant runways and has file footage of the swimsuit competition.


It's not just broadcasters under pressure. A magazine article recently had a short bio on the writer at the end. It mentioned the college she graduated and that she was a former Miss Somewhere or Another. I wonder if she thinks that's how Woodward and Bernstein got their start?


Honestly, it is impressive that the females on the tube can look so good day after day. Only a select few that can pull that off — Darwin's Survival of the Prettiest.


If I was on morning television, they'd have to run crawlers across the screen saying things like, "Out late last night, bags under the eyes," or "Puffy today, water retention, too much salt."


One final fashion observation is that some female broadcasters now show cleavage. There was a time when a woman wouldn't think of wearing a plunging neckline on a news program. It was considered unprofessional and could jeopardize a woman being taken as seriously as a man. But now the game has changed.


If male broadcasters want to be taken as seriously as the women, they should loosen their ties, rip open their shirts, show their pecs and some chest hair.


Twirling flaming batons couldn't hurt either.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles