Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 5, 2010 / 21 Nissan 5770

What Will Dee-troit Be Like in 2020?

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In my Detroit, a decade from now, there are no blocks with one burned-out house. Those eyesores have been leveled. Grass and trees have taken their place.


In my Detroit, people leave work and walk home, because they live in the city, they don't just enter and exit.


In my Detroit, the auto business is important, but it's hardly the only industry.


In my Detroit, there are insurance firms, banking, health care, high tech — all drawn by tax breaks and cheap, available buildings.


In my Detroit, there are neighborhoods thriving, houses being remodeled and kids playing in well-planned park areas.


In my Detroit, the waterfront is full of shops and restaurants, with apartments above them, each with a river view.


In my Detroit, there's an upscale shopping mall, smack in the middle of downtown, because if you build it, they will come.


In my Detroit, we connect city buildings with outdoor walkways — as other cold-weather cities have done — so that winter doesn't turn us into a barren wasteland


In my Detroit, the city is smaller but more crowded, and people want in, not out.

EASIER WAYS TO GET AROUND
In my Detroit, a decade from now, the city charter has been thoroughly revised to make sense for its future, not its past.


In my Detroit, all City Council members are elected by district, none can serve more than two terms, and the City Council is only a watchdog on the mayor's office, not a roadblock.


In my Detroit, all mayors have term limits, transparency is mandated, and corruption is cause for instant removal.


In my Detroit, all city contracts are reviewed by an ethics board to look for conflicts of interest, favoritism or cronyism, because if you catch it before it starts, it won't start. In my Detroit, corruption in certain areas — education, police — is re-classified as an offense that comes with heavy jail time. Non-negotiable.


In my Detroit, people no longer act as if the city is supposed to be black, the suburbs are supposed to be white and the two are supposed to be at war with each other.


In my Detroit, you cannot sit on vacant property in major development zones. Either you develop it, or you get fined so badly you'll sell it to someone who will.


In my Detroit, "mass transit" is not seen as the enemy of the automobile. We begin a smart, small system connecting the most popular destinations (stadiums, shopping areas) with the most populated suburbs (Southfield, Warren) and go from there.

Letter from JWR publisher

In my Detroit, we have officials who design and revise a five-, 10- and 20-year city plan, and we display it for the citizens, so there is always a feeling of future, of growth and of thinking of our children.


In my Detroit, our homeless efforts are coordinated, from shelter to counseling to transitional housing to employment, and companies that hire the once-homeless get a break, because they are investing in erasing a problem.


In my Detroit, we stop thinking like victims and start thinking like a jewel.

A MOTTO FOR ALL PEOPLE
In my Detroit, a decade from now, every inner-city church, mosque or synagogue is partnered with one from the suburbs, because people of like minds and faiths are a fast way to break down barriers and distance.


In my Detroit, music is cherished, and incentives are given to employ live acts and teach young artists, because music brought youthful development to Seattle, to Minneapolis, to Nashville, and it can be a huge net here.


In my Detroit, we identify growth industries and give them special enticements, because we need the feeling of things getting bigger, not smaller.


In my Detroit, we make Windsor a bigger partner, because how many U.S. cities can offer such a gateway to Canadians?


In my Detroit, we reach out and pull back all our famous and wealthy ex-citizens, we let them name buildings or businesses if they invest, because the loyalty of our ex-pats is deep, but has rarely been tapped beyond lip service.


In my Detroit, we have a catchy campaign that becomes synonymous with our town, more like "I Love New York" and less like "Say Nice Things About Detroit."


In my Detroit, we take our greatest asset, the people, and make them feel the city's growth is part of their destiny.


In my Detroit, a decade from now, all this comes true. But it's not my Detroit.


It's ours.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles