Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2008 / 12 Nissan 5768

Is innovation at the Seder a slap at tradition?

By Rabbi Elazar Meisels


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

A challenge for modern, thinking Jews


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Rabbi,

We conduct a large Seder at our home each year, and the same question arises every year: Must we loyally follow the text of the Haggadah, or may we innovate in the recital of the miracles? My husband is of the opinion that we needn't be smarter than the authors of the Haggadah and should stick to the original text. I maintain that it's not a question of being smarter, but rather, I'd like to do so out of a desire to discuss the events in a more personal manner that resonate with us today. I know that it's traditional to stick to the text and I'm prepared to do so if I must, but I'd love to know your opinion on the matter?

Thank you,
Debbie E.


Debbie,

As a rabbi, I couldn't be happier about being asked to mediate this dispute between you and your husband, because it affords me a rare opportunity to side with both of you since you're both right! There are differing opinions on the matter, so each of you can take comfort in knowing that a great Halachic (Jewish law) expert saw it as you did.


Rabbi Natrunai Gaon [Natronai bar Rav Hilai Abba Mari, leader of the Sura Academy c. 854-862] is quoted in Sefer HaManhig as saying that adherence to the text of the Haggadah is mandatory, and that any variation is akin to heresy, since it is based on the sacred words of the Mishnah and Talmud. Hence, one may not delete any part of the text, or replace it with other parts of the text, to accommodate their own personal preferences.


A very different viewpoint was expressed by Ritvah [Rabbi Yom Tov ibn Asevilli c. 1300] in his book titled Hilchos Seder HaHaggadah. He insists that ideally, one should discuss the aspects of the Exodus without a formal text, since the purpose of the discussion is to offer praise of Hashem, which is more intensely felt when expressed in spontaneous fashion. The text of our Haggadah, insists Ritvah, was only introduced for those who are ignorant of the Exodus and incapable of discussing it in an original manner. They may exempt their obligation by following the standardized text of the Haggadah. All others should seek to converse in as informal and genuine a manner as possible.


Raavad [Rabbi Avraham ben David of Provence, c.1125-1198] agreed with the opinion of Ritvah, and thus, it was his custom to expound upon a verse or two related to the Exodus prior to the recital of the Haggadah.


It is very important to note that even Rabbi Natrunai Gaon agrees that the Haggadah need not be recited in the original Hebrew, and should be recited in any language that the reader understands, so that its message is better internalized [quoted in Rit"z Ga'us, Chelek 2:102].


In practice, we seek to accommodate both opinions and therefore remain loyal to the original text, while not hesitating to probe it for additional insights and elucidations that lend inspiration and understanding. Thus, there is a tradition to spend some time in the days and weeks leading up to the Seder studying the Haggadah and the various commentaries so that one can discuss it in-depth, and with a degree of originality. This not only accommodates the opinion of Ritva and Raavad, but also adds depth to the conversation and keeps the focus on the Exodus, a subject all can agree upon, as opposed to current events and politics, which are rarely the subject of universal agreement.


There are many resources available to assist you in doing so, including a vast array of Haggadahs from Artscroll, the popular Judaica publisher that feature English translations, and approach the Exodus from a wide range of perspectives. They may cost a bit more than the version your Bubby picked up free in the grocery store with the Maxwell House coffee, but they're well worth the investment in time and money.


Wishing you a joyous and kosher Passover!
Elazar Meisels

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Rabbi Elazar Meisels is founder of the Lidrosh Institute for Jewish Education. He serves as the Rabbi of The Michigan State University Hillel and Educational Director of The Partners In Torah Telepartners Division.


© 2008, Partners in Torah