Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 3, 2008 / 27 Adar II 5768

Parents — and the children who would be them

By Rabbi Y. Y. Rubinstein


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

Editor's note: This essay was first broadcast on BBC Radio, Nov. 26th, 2006


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Most humor has a touch of cruelty. As funny as slipping on a banana peel may be to watch, it still hurts!


I like the joke about the grandfather who says to his grandson, "You know, I'm 83 today and my memory is just as good as when I was your age, touch wood. ... Come in!"


Since last month, when I had to find a care home for my Mum, who is 86, and since it has been the case that that joke could describe her memory, the above doesn't seem so funny anymore.


I love my Mum. Perhaps since I am an only child, I am especially close to her. A wise Rabbi once told me: "As long as you have a Parent you still remain a child."


And there are so many memories that I can retrieve so very easily, of her holding my hand as we visited the dentist or drying away tears when I was hurt or scared. And now when I take her for walks, she has to hold my hand; she's as vulnerable and reliant on me as I was on her. All those years ago.


If you have ever seen a picture of Moses descending from Mount Sinai, he is carrying the tablets of stone on which were written the Ten Commandments. On one side are five which deal with people's relationships with, and obligations to, each other, "Don't steal Don't Kill and don't commit adultery."


The other five are people's obligations to G-d "honoring G-d and Don't take His name in vain. Strangely that's the side amongst those commandments where you find "Honor you mother and father". It's on the wrong side, in the wrong column! The reason is because ultimately you ended up with that Mum or Dad cause G-d decided that's where you belonged.


Some parents are geniuses at child rearing, some are very poor and obviously most parents (like me) are average. Getting it right — and often getting it wrong, too.


You can learn from the things your parents got right, copy them when your own kids appear and learn from their mistakes too and not repeat them. Was my Mum a genius at raising me? No! Just average, but now that she holds my hand and looks to me to look after her, I so clearly recall all the thousands of times she looked after me and I'm grateful to G-d.


'Cause I love my Mum.


My Mum passed away a week ago, today.

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Rabbi Y. Y. Rubinstein, an international lecturer, is a commentator for the British Broadcasting Company (BBC). He was cited by the U.K. paper, Independent, as being among the five most regarded people in the Britain to turn to for advice.







© 2008, Rabbi Y. Y. Rubinstein